[Comic / Graphic Novel Review] Wonderland (Volume 5)

wonderland_volume_5-gregory_raven-30449518-2069220791-frntlWonderland (Volume 5)

(Age of Darkness series, Wonderland #21-25)

Raven Gregory & Eric M. Esquivel (Writers); J.G. Miranda (Artist)

What rating would you give it?
2/2.5 of 5 Stars

Give us a summary.

(Taken from Goodreads)
As an “Age of Darkness” spreads across the realms, pushing the Queens of Wonderland into conflict, Calie must take a final stand. Journeying into Wonderland to save her daughter Violet, Calie assembles a team of warriors in effort to take control of Wonderland… for good. Wonderland: Volume 5 collects Wonderland #21-25.

What did you think of the book?

That was…. interesting. I’m gonna go with… with that. On my blog this graphic novel is probably going to get a 2.5… because… because… I just don’t know what to make of half of that nonsense (and not the good kind of nonsense either!) that takes place within its pages.

I feel like most of this story was just a lot of bad puns taken from the media, stereotypes, and a perverted mind, with bucket-loads of gratuitous and wholly unnecessary fanservice. There wasn’t much working for it. Neither was there much originality, either. A couple concepts were interesting and new (at least to me), but the majority of what paraded about as a “plot” was confusing, disjointed, and lacking sense of purpose. I understand that this is Wonderland, and things are supposed to be nonsense, and I also know this is the last(I think???) collection of the Wonderland tales, BUT. This just didn’t work for me. The story jumped around too abruptly without giving the reader a chance to follow along. I think if it had just done that, I would have been more into it. As it were, I just wanted to get through reading it so it could end.

I have the feeling some things may have been explained in the precious collected volumes, so I won’t be as harsh on rating it as I might usually be. Perhaps I can get my hands on the earlier chapters to see if this disjointed storytelling (and weird paneling) is a consistent thing or just in this book. Then I might change the rating, for better or for worse.

What was your favourite aspect of the book?

PFfft—! The line, “Have Chris Hemsworth’s babies” and “Date night with James Franco,” because… Wow…. are you serious?? xDD

Although I’m not sure if any of these are positives or not, The Queen of Spades reminds me of a Mord-Sith. (Sword of Truth/Legend of the Seekers fans, anyone???) Am I right or am I right? Seriously. Also [highlight for spoilers regarding this book and the TV show The Librarians]the entity known as “Wonderland” itself reminds me of the Mystery Houses episode of The Librarians. Annnnnd the manifestation of Wonderland does NOT look like whoever he’s supposedly supposed to look like, but instead looks like Tony Stark, and I mean it. Come on! You can’t tell me to my face that he doesn’t look like Stark FROM THE COMICS. Not RDJ. Though he does kinda look like him a bit too…[/highlight]

Any warnings you wish to make for your readers?

Don’t be surprised by anything. That’s all I’m gonna say.

Does it count towards any reading challenges?

Yup! A whole bunch. xD

Would you recommend this book?

tumblr_m496c8mTYL1qgblna

Doubt it. :/ Unless you’re a hardcore fan of the series, I definitely wouldn’t suggest anyone start with this book (too much weird shit goes down here for anyone to make sense of it out of the blue).

Reviewed by AMS (amomentsilence)

Publisher: Zenescope
Publication Date: January 2015
Format: eBook, ARC
Pages: 148
Genre: Graphic Novel, Comic, Fantasy,
Fairytale Classics Retold, Alice In
Wonderland retelling, F/F Romance,
M/F Romance, Horror, Scantily Clothed
Women, Mental Disorder/Illness,
Surrealism, Action/Adventure, Alternative
Worlds/Realms/Dimensions
Age: Young Adult / New Adult (I think…)
Reviewer: AMS (amomentsilence)
Source: Provided by NetGalley
Challenge2015 Good Reads Reading Challenge (18),
52 Books in 52 WeeksYou Read How Many Books?,
2015 Graphic Novel and Comic Reading Challenge,
2015 NetGalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge,
Read A Million Pages105 Reading Challenge,
Readathon Day 2015, 2015 LGBT Reading Challenge,
2015 New To You Reading Challenge

3 thoughts on “[Comic / Graphic Novel Review] Wonderland (Volume 5)

  1. otakutwins1 says:

    Darn D: this Wonderland comic looked really cool, like I love how the art looks and the colors :O! But 2.5… that makes me super sad! Well ok, I haven’t read any of them but haha, I thought it sounded awesome 🙂 Sorry it wasn’t better for you

    Liked by 1 person

    • amomentsilence says:

      Yeah I know! I saw this too and was immediately like, “Sign me up!” But after reading it, I sort of want that half hour of my life back. :/ On the plus side, the art IS gorgeous… but that doesn’t do it for me if the storytelling’s all funky and weird.

      Like

LEAVE A REPLY