[Book Review/TBBR] Prosperity

ProsperityProsperity

(Prosperity, Book #1)

Alexis Hall

What rating would you give it?
5++++++++++++++++++++ of 5 Stars

What did you think of the book?

This was better than I could have imagined! I loved the consistent, snarky voice of characters, the diversity of the cast, the setting and world-building…ASDFGHJKL:LKJHGFDS I have only praise for this book. It goes right up there as one of my favorite books of the year!

I literally had moments of actual laughing out loud and scaring people around me. I’m not even joking here.

This novel is abso-friggin-lutely the best thing ever and you HAVE to read it if you’re into:

  • Skyships!
  • Victorian-esque inspired alternative worlds!
  • Ridiculously hot and snarky as ALL hell antihero!
  • MAGNIFICENT WORLD-BUILDING *FOAMS…. AT…. MOUTH*
  • Interlinking novellas/stories ALL WITHIN ONE NOVEL *THIS IS MY FAVOURITE THING THOUGH, HONEST*
  • Did I forget to mention THE COVER ART?!?!? *PTERODACTYL SCREECHES BECAUSE HOMGGGG* I took one look at that cover and knew I wanted an ARC of this book and I WOULD HAVE IT IF IT WAS THE LAST THING I DID
  • THE INSANELY IN CHARACTER, IN-VOICE NARRATION – which I know, for some people can be a problem. And truthfully, if the author doesn’t know what they’re doing accents can sound like complete nonsense or just come out wonky—EXCEPT THAT’S NOT THE CASE HERE. ALEXIS HALL RULES!!

  • The style of storytelling, which I very much choose to read as a series of scenes that all worked together to create the bigger whole.
  • Distinct voices of ALL the characters (not just the main one)
  • RELEASE THE KRAKEN!!
  • Lush, fully developed characters that I could BELIEVE. WHOLLY.
  • The name PICCADILLY. Because, honestly, how can you not love someone with a name like that?

I recently got an ARC for Liberty and Other Stories which combines Books 2-4 and 6 together in a single volume. I cannot wait to see what shenanigans the characters will get up to in these stories to come… >)

Would you recommend this book?

tumblr_m3cdb61s4N1qkefgq

 

Do you even have to ask???

Reviewed by AMS (amomentsilence)

Publisher: Riptide Publishing
Publication Date: October 2014
Format: eBook, ARC
Pages: 235
Genre: M/M Steampunk / SciFi, POC,
QUILTBAG / LGBTQUI, Victorian, Totally
in-character narration, fun fun FUN story!
Age: Young Adult / Adult
Reviewer: AMS (amomentsilence)
Source: Provided by NetGalley
Challenge: 2014 Good Reads Reading Challenge (100)

 

LEAVE A REPLY