[Book Review] Repossessed by A. M. Jenkins

repossessed

 

This is an old review, though I still feel the same about it now as I did then.

*This book was also used in a booktalk for class.


Repossessed by A.M. Jenkins • 2007 • HarperTeen • 224 pages

“Jenkins works magic on readers. Warm, heartening message of hope coupled with a little rebellion.”

– Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Genre/Theme: An overworked fallen angel (since he doesn’t like being called ‘Demon’), Humorous, Satirical, Body possession, Young Adult, Paranormal, Supernatural, Afterlife, Heaven/Hell themes (but not in a bad way), Self Identity, Some philosophical questioning twinged in humor and wit

Brief Summary: Kiriel hasn’t had a vacation in… forever. And I mean, literally. Forever. He needs to take a break. He’s a Fallen Angel (as he doesn’t like the term “demon”; it’s politically incorrect) and he’s just stolen a body to vacation in. It’s not like anyone will miss him anyway.

Evaluation: 5 of 5 stars

1-2 things you liked:

  • Pfft–! Everything. It was quirky, funny, the voice of the character Kiriel was fun to get involved and engaged with, and also it was easy to be so sympathetic to how he felt and why he did the things he did.
  • The first person narrative in this book worked like a charm and really helped the reader understand and come into better recognition of the character.
  • I LOVE the cover. Now, I know it could possibly be a turn-off to some people (especially if they’re very religious) but the cover was just so captivating to me when it was pulled from the shelf and I saw it for the first time. I actually laughed. I wasn’t expecting that. (Y’see, I hadn’t googled or checked it out on Amazon first before finding the book at my local library.)
  • The last chapter was incredible. Probably one of my favorites. Also the first three chapters really got the reader hooked so you would wan to know what was going to happen next. Great way to get the reader addicted to a new read.
  • I honestly don’t have enough good to say about this book. Everyone should read it. Teens, adults… it’s just a great read.

1-2 things you didn’t like:

  • That it ended. XD I didn’t want this book to end. I was so mad when I got to the end. I kept saying “Nooo—! I can’t be over!” 😥

Would you recommend this book?: YES. 100 times YES. As a side note, since I was also asked specifically if this book would be good for a Catholic middle school as well… I’d have to say that I am unsure if I would recommend there. On one hand it talks about demons and angels and such, but it doesn’t promote religion or religious views (too expressedly) but I could see it possible being a problem since our narrator is a “fallen angel”.

Looking Back (Current Thoughts & Eval): I love this book. I really do. XD I’ll say it now, I’ll say it ten years from now. I LOVE this book. Kiriel is one hell of a character… and the VOICE! Wow! The humor was just right. The wittisicm was spot-on! Even the scenarios that befell him and the other characters was believable and memorable. I mean… he tries to win over the cat. THE FRIGGIN CAT MAN! Come on now! How great is that? XD (FYI – he’s inhabiting someone else’s body and no one figures it out except for the guy’s cat who, on sight hates his face, but eventually warms up to him a bit.) The only thing that I can remember bugging me about it was this tiny bit in the middle of it where everything went a little wonky for poor Kiriel.

Besides that, I can’t think of anything else! It’s a great, quick read. Not too deep in terms of storytelling, but that probably has a lot to do with the fact that Kiriel spent most of his time figuring out how to use his new human body (which I absolutely loved so I couldn’t care in the least 😈 ) I would suggest it to anyone who wants a fun, quick, engaging read, but doesn’t want to spend too much time getting to the good stuff, and love-love-LOVES dry humor.

 

One thought on “[Book Review] Repossessed by A. M. Jenkins

LEAVE A REPLY