Repost “Kinda” Mini Review – KONOYO IBUN (March 25, 2014)

Genre: Comedy, Drama, Supernatural, Yaoi

Volumes: 7 (complete)

Released in English?: Only up to Vol. 3

In the immediate family of the story’s protagonist everyone seems to die early, and other relatives talk about a curse. When soon after his grandfather’s death he comes down with an incurable disease, and is overwhelmed by grief and loneliness, in desperation he remembers his grandfather’s last words — that somebody was watching over them. He can only find an odd fossil tooth where his grandfather had pointed, but when he picks it up and accidentally gets some of his blood on it, that summons a guardian spirit, who promises to cure him. Maybe he should be pleased, but said guardian has some strange methods for healing.

Side Story (about director Keiichiro & Tetsu-chan): “Konoyo Ibun Sono no San”

Source: MangaUpdates

Alternative Names:  A Strange and Mystifying Story (English); My Demon & Me (French)


My thoughts: I have always loved this story from the very first book. Sadly, however, it would seem that whoever the publisher was here in the States publishing it decides to bail and leave us all hanging at the 3rd book – which, by the way, I thought we were merely up-to-date and waiting for the managaka in Japan to finish making the next book already! @A@;;; I really don’t know what the say in terms of how I’ll get the rest of this series, but somehow or another I will. Basically I’m stuck with either buying it in French – since they finished their publication of it eons ago – or in the original Japanese. I’d probably want it in the Japanese since it’ll be in its completion that way, but I have very few options on where to purchase it. I’ll probably check out BookOff and YesAsia and even Amazon.jp but… I get the feeling I’m going to be hunting for this one for awhile. -A-;

That aside, I really loved this series. Don’t ask me why. It had something to do with the strange nature of the story being told, the genuine yet still fanciful qualities to the characters and their problem/solution to said problem. I’m 100% on how they eventually decide to work things out though. That much is entirely okay by me.

Rating:
5 Stars (for the 3 books I’ve read thus far)

LEAVE A REPLY