The Re-Read Challenge Review ~ Update 4

THE LIST of Books I Re-Read Last Month (April)

Print ikenai otoko 16159888 12461407 124614191737706410386406 10386503

Haito Diamond 1 Haito Diamond 2 Haito Diamond 3 Haito Diamond 4

  1. Songs of the Earth (Sumeria’s Sons, #2) by Lexi Ander  [Review]
  2. Ikenai Otoko by Hiroi Takao  [Review]
  3. Ore ni Koi Shite Dounsunda by Kou Yoneda [Review]
  4. Jigoku Meguri #1 & 2 by Siam Kuju  [Review]
  5. Dark Prince (The Dark Earth manga, #3) by X. Aratare & T.Wolv  [Review]
  6. Haito Diamond #1-4 by Mika Sadahiro  [Review]
  7. The Abyss: Upon A Midnight Clear by X. Aratare  [Review]
  8. The Erl-King: Jealous Sons and Mistletoe by X. Aratare  [Review]

WHAT I Remember

About Songs of the Earth… that everything was STILL NOT OKAY, NOT OKAY MAN!

About Ikenai Otoko… nothing actually. XD That is until I saw the cover and then one thing led to another and I ended up reading the whole thing in one go. No joke – the title does NOTHING to jog my memory of the story. Only the cover art brings the comedic escapades back in full swing.

About the Jigoku Meguri series… that I… I read it before… but somehow I felt like I hadn’t finished reading it or something? It’s possible that I started this series when it was being scanlated and never got back to it, which could very much so explain away why at least the ENTIRE SECOND BOOK and, maybe… the second-to-last chapter in the first book was such a blank to me.

Either that, or I have shit memory.

S’toss up between the two, fer sure.

About Dark Prince… that I had read most of it when it was being serialized but hadn’t finished it because 1) wasn’t completed yet and 2) membership ran out. Now that both of those things have been rectified, I decided it was about time to catch up on my favourite series.

About Ore ni Koi Shite Dounsunda… that… once again THE TITLE GAVE AWAY NOTHING TO ME. xD Just like with Ikenai, the only thing that helps is the cover art. Once I got a glimpse of that I had the same sort of feeling as I did with Jigoku, knowing that I HAD read it, but not ALL of it, so… yeah. *needs to get a physical copy of this one SOON* Anyone know where I can get one? xD

About the Haito Diamond series… that it will forever be one of my favourite fucked-up series that will live on in infamy till the end of time, because

tumblr_m5tu0hRczz1rxevt4o1_500

About Upon A Midnight Clear (A short holiday tale from The Abyss)… that it was fuckin’ cute and I wanted to re-read it. END OF STORY.

About Jealous Sons and Mistletoe (A short holiday tale from The Erl-King)… that it was EVEN MORE FUCKIN CUTE, AND I WANTED TO FUCKIN’ RE-READ IT. GOD 

WHY I Wanted to Re-Read

I think I made myself clear with Jealous Sons and A Midnight Clear, so I won’t reiterate.

For Haito Diamond, I was actually dusting off my ATF (All-Time-Favourites) bookshelf and ended up picking up one book, dusting it off, reading it. Picking up the rest of the books, dusting them off, and reading all of them one after another. Then upon putting down my dusting cloth, went over to my computer and looked through my scanlations of all four books to compare and contrast the horrible “translating” to the original raws.

It was a gloriously entertaining afternoon. ❤

The rest were basically spurred on by random, “Oh! What’s that title? I don’t remember reading this—OHHH. Yes I do. Yup. Yes, I doo~ooh——fuck, I’m actually already halfway through this one, aren’t I? Might as well finish reading it. 8DDDD”

Only Songs of Earth was re-read again for the sake of refreshing myself for the next book.

HOW I Felt After Re-Reading

9456700

And I think that was pretty much for each and every book on this list. Nothing disappoints. XD

WOULD I Re-Read Again

I think the answer for all of them would be…

can i get a hell yeah

The Re-Read Challenge Review ~ Update 3

THE LIST of Books I Re-Read in March

   

6664559

  1. The Antique Bakery by Fumi Yoshinaga  [Re-read Review]
  2. Twin Flames (Sumeria’s Sons, #1) by Lexi Ander  [Review]
  3. 19 Days by Old Xian  [Review]
  4. Under Grand Hotel v.1 by Mika Sadahiro  [Review]

WHAT I Remember

About The Antique Bakery… not as much as I’d thought I would. o__O I actually remembered the anime in more detail.

About Twin Flames… that everything was perfect and I needed the next book immediately. xD

About 19 Days… that EVERYTHING IS PERFECT and EVERYONE SHOULD HAVE A BEST FRIEND LIKE THIS GUY. XDDD

About Under Grand Hotel… little bits and pieces. I was actually looking for a scene that I wanted to compare another book I was reading against, but I couldn’t remember if it was in the first or second book so… one thing led to another. Next thing I knew I’d re-read the whole thing. XD

WHY I Wanted to Re-Read

I think what triggered me wanting to read The Antique Bakery again was because I heard the theme song and it got me all nostalgic and shit. XD Which sort of plays along to why I re-read Under Grand Hotel, the first book… and ONLY the first book. I heard a song that reminded me of it, and wah-la! The instant, “MUST READ NOW!” trigger was switched.

I ended up reading 19 Days again because it made local online news, and I just couldn’t help myself. xD It’s so ridiculously funny that once you start – you can’t stop until you’re done. This is just one of those books. It’s also kinda funny (but in a different way) because the last time I’d read 19 Days there wasn’t as many strips yet, so seeing that an entire book was finished was quite surprising!

cover (1)

Twin Flames got another re-read because I got my hands on the next book, so REFRESHER TIME! HERE WE COME!

HOW I Felt After Re-Reading

For all of them it was either refresher, “OH that’s right. THAT’S what happened. Right, right.” I didn’t feel any differently about the books than I did the first time reading them. Only love them all over again.

Under Grand Hotel and 19 Days won out though. Because after another re-read, I just love them ALL OVER AGAIN WITH GUSTO.

11150894_10205175316280725_4571129951412295439_n

WOULD I Re-Read Again

Definitely for all of them except The Antique Bakery. I really have nothing against it, it’s just… well… some books you like to AND CAN re-read again, and again, and again, with no problem and no possibility of ever getting bored of it. And then there’s The Antique Bakery, which – while being a good manga – can be a bit… eh… it’s not re-read worthy. That’s all I’m saying, y’know?

[Reckless Beat & SOTD] Saint Motel – My Type

RECKLESS BEATS is a musical feature where I incorporate a little music into this bookish blog.

This song… has been stuck in my brain for days. Weeks, if I were to be completely honest. I just don’t know what to do with it. Good grief.

If you have heard it before, then you’ll know it’s a fucked up little song with one helluva catchy beat.

Today’s song of the day is by the indie-pop, alternative rock group Saint Motel, and it’s called “My Type“.

 

LYRICS:

Continue reading

Favourite Quotes: Favourite Advice From Books

“If we believe that humanity may transcend tooth and claw, if we believe divers races & creeds can share this world as peaceably as the orphans share their candlenut tree, if we believe leaders must be just, violence muzzled, power accountable & the riches of the Earth & its Oceans shared equitably, such a world will come to pass.”

— Adam Ewing (Cloud Atlas, David Mitchell)