Parajunkee’s “Blog Post Proofing Checklist”

I hope you guys enjoyed my previous post for Parajunkee’s Book Blogger Checklist, and I also hope it’s helped some of you with your blogging experience. 🙂

This week, I’m putting up another one of her infographics that I think is really important. Also on blogging, but this time more widespread.

Proofing.

Everyone needs a little help proofing. Whether it’s a book. Or a post. Or an essay. We all need a little help once in a while, depending on what our strengths and weaknesses are.

Mine have always been linked back to my dyslexia, so sometimes I don’t notice mistakes in my writing until someone really points them out to me or walks me through them. The most common mistakes I find are completely missing words, word substitution (a LOT of word substitution oTL), words written backwards or utterly jumbled, and fragmented words. I spend a lot of time just re-reading (and re-reading, and re-reading…) over and over and over again, just to make sure I haven’t written something incomprehensible. Usually I’m pretty good at catching my mistakes.

Sometimes… not so much. XD

But those are my weaknesses. My strengths revolve around how dedicated I am to correcting, noticing, and fixing them.

For you, it might be something much more simple. You might write or read too fast, and need to slow it down so your brain can catch up. Or maybe you have a bad habit of rambling or being unclear in your writing.

Whatever it is, I think this inforgraphic will definitely help. It’ll at least point you in the right direction, at any rate. 🙂

FYI though – I actually don’t like this graphic as much as Parajunkee’s other one, but it does have a LOT of great info on it. 🙂


 

ProofYourPost

Infographic by parajunkee.com

[WTRO2] Down by Ally Blue

WTRO2 is short for Want To Read Or Own, a feature I host here on Reckless Indulgence, where I showcase a book that has captured my interest recently. If I can swing it and get myself a copy, the book will again be featured among an upcoming book haul post.

Annnnd, for books that are part of a series, see SIWTGI.


Riptide Publishing
Pub Date   Apr 20 2015
Genres     Literature/Fiction (Adult), Sci Fi & Fantasy
NetGalley Link-up


Description

Seven thousand meters below the ocean’s surface, the crew of the BathyTech 3 mineral mining facility has found something remarkable: a rock-like sphere of unknown material and origin.

For Mo Rees, the discovery calls to his inner explorer and adds color to his dull miner’s life. Even better than the promise of new knowledge is the unexpected connection he forges with Dr. Armin Savage-Hall, leader of the team brought down to study the thing.

For Armin, the object is the find of a lifetime. It could prove his controversial theories and secure his scientific reputation. And Mo is a fascinating bonus.

Then crew members start behaving strangely. Worse, they start to change: their eyes glow purple, their teeth sharpen. Then the violence begins, the brutal deaths. As BathyTech descends deeper into chaos, the surviving crew works desperately to find the cause of the horrors around them. What they uncover could annihilate the human race. And they can’t stop it.

[WTRO2] Peripheral People (A Ylendrian Empire Novel) by Reesa Herberth & Michelle Moore

WTRO2 is short for Want To Read Or Own, a feature I host here on Reckless Indulgence, where I showcase a book that has captured my interest recently. If I can swing it and get myself a copy, the book will again be featured among an upcoming book haul post.

Annnnd, for books that are part of a series, see SIWTGI.


Riptide Publishing
Pub Date   May 11 2015
Genres     Sci Fi & Fantasy
NetGalley Link-up


Description

Corwin Menivie and Nika Santivan are decorated veterans of the Imperial Enforcement Coalition, and are perfectly capable of solving cases the old-fashioned way. When they’re paired with Westley Tavera and Gavin Hale, the most powerful Reader/Ground team to emerge from the Psionics Academy, it could either be the best thing that’s ever happened to crime fighting, or the makings of a quadruple homicide.

During a routine investigation, West’s talent puts them on the trail of a brutal serial killer who traps his prey in a deadly mental playground. Then the killer starts baiting the team, laying psychic landmines at crime scenes and exposing IEC secrets. The strain of the case binds the agents closer together—so close that Nika and Gavin start sharing a room, and even the curmudgeonly Corwin finds himself as occupied with West as he is with the murders.

But as West’s visions of death grow more violent, the only way out for all of them may be straight through the mind of a monster. If they’re not careful, they may forget which side of the hunt they’re on.