World Book Day

[Information]

This year it was March 5th. I didn’t particularly do anything for it, but if you’re interested in the details, click the link above.

Check local libraries, bookstores and schools to see if any in your area are participating in World Book Day.

And of course, spread the word!! 🙂

[Reckless Beat & SOTD] 30 Seconds To Mars – Kings & Queens

30 Seconds to Mars has always been a favourite band of mine. Pretty much any song they make I’m probably going to end up loving.

Today’s RECKLESS BEAT is their 2010 hit, Kings and Queens. This one… I don’t know. When I first heard it, it was like fireworks went off in my brain. Shivers went down my spine. And within maybe one or two listenings of the song, I had every word of the lyrics down pat. It probably had something to do with the way Jared sings the song… or the lyrics and dynamism that convey such emotion and anguish… Maybe it was just simply that it so suited my mood and state of mind at the time (I was writing a very… war-brutalized novel at the time, and man did this song take over my brain.)

Either way, this song is just… powerful. To this day, it’s still one of my favourite songs by them, and furthermore — simply one of my favourite songs EVER.

I hope you all enjoy! Even if you don’t usually like the band, Jared Leto, or this type of alternative rock music… this song might change your mind. 🙂

LYRICS:

Into the night
Desperate and broken
The sound of a fight
Father has spoken.

We were the kings and queens of promise
We were the victims of ourselves
Maybe the children of a lesser God
Between Heaven and Hell,
Heaven and Hell.

Into your eyes
Hopeless and taken
We stole our new lives
Through blood and name
In defense of our dreams
In defense of our dreams

We were the kings and queens of promise
We were the victims of ourselves
Maybe the children of a lesser God
Between Heaven and Hell,
Heaven and Hell.

The age of man is over
A darkness comes at dawn
These lessons that we’ve learned here
Have only just begun

We were the kings and queens of promise
We were the victims of ourselves
Maybe the children of a lesser God
Between Heaven and Hell.

We are the kings
We are the queens
We are the kings
We are the queens