[Book Review] Guild of Immortal Women by David Alan Morrison & H. L. Melvin

Guild of Immortal Women

David Alan Morrison & H. L. Melvin

What rating would you give it?
DNL (and as such, won’t rate)

Is anything special going on for this book right now?

Well, there was

book tour and book giveaway was going on until the 24th of the month here.

Thoughts and review of the book?

Eh. It was okay, I guess. I got through it, though I kinda wish I had just stopped after the first 10 chapters. I can’t say it was the greatest thing I’ve ever read, because it certainly wasn’t. I was hoping for something more along the lines of Gaiman humor since I’ve been hearing all these ravings about how funny and unpredictable it was, but instead it sort of fell short for me.

The premise seems sound, but it just didn’t jive with me. I don’t even think it has anything to do with the writing itself, because that was decent enough, but the story just wasn’t as engaging as I’d hoped.

Granted, I’m pretty picky about the books I read, because I just don’t like getting stuck with something mediocre. This book sort of falls into that category. I don’t know if it’s simply because it didn’t have enough tension and drive to make it interesting, or simply because there was no real hook within its pages to keep my interest. All I do know is that I won’t be reading it again.

tumblr_m9gc6uP8Kr1r2iiuao1_500

Also because it was so short, there really wasn’t as much world-building and character development as I would have liked. I think if there had been more of what I liked to read about in this supposed “fantasy-mystery” I would have been more engaged in the story.

Furthermore, it was a bit too fast-paced right out the gate, with that first chapter not so much drawing me into the story, as thrusting me out of it. I felt as though I was sort of dangling from the get-go, without any real substance to hold onto story-wise, and that feeling just didn’t really change as I continued along. When it comes to fantasy (I don’t know so much about mystery), you need to be able to enjoy it, really let it drag out so you can find yourself in a believable state of mind to let things happen. Instead of the slow and steady build-up, we were thrust right into a barely believable scenario that had me scratching my head right more times than not. I wanted substance and depth and WORLD-BUILDING FOR GOODNESS SAKES! Sweet, sweet deliciousness. What I got instead was barely palatable, which was disappointing to say the least.

Any warnings you wish to make for your readers?

Nothing in particular. Beware of some overall weirdness.

Does it count towards any reading challenges?

I wasn’t reading it for that purpose, but… I’d be lying if I said it didn’t. xD

Would you recommend this book?

7926552

Eh… I generally only recommend books I truly fall in love with. I didn’t LOVE this book, nor did I fall in love with it. But I didn’t hate it either. It was just “okay” for me. I guess I’d recommend it to someone who wants a quick mystery/fantasy to read

Reviewed by AMS (amomentsilence)

Publisher: Book Publisher’s Network
Publication Date: October 2014
Format: ebook
Pages: 199
Genre / Themes: Contemporary Fiction,
Independent Women, Adventure, Time Travel,
Age: Adult
Reviewer: AMS (amomentsilence)
Source: Provided by Good Tales Book Tours for an
honest review
Challenge2015 Good Reads Reading Challenge (49),
52 Books in 52 WeeksYou Read How Many Books?,
2015 New To You Reading Challenge,
Read A Million Pages105 Reading Challenge,
The Eclectic Reader (#3 PI Crime)
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

LEAVE A REPLY

