[Reckless Beat & SOTD] The Byrds – Turn! Turn! Turn!

RECKLESS BEATS is a musical feature where I incorporate a little music into this bookish blog.

 

Happy Leap Day everybody!

Don’t know about you, but this leap to year has already been one hell of a rollercoaster ride for me. I hope this nonesense ceases to continue because I’ve had just about enough. @___@ It can’t rain all the time and all that, right? Righ??

I nearly forgot it was today. The 29th day.

Yknow, I had someone say to me around the beginning of the year that they were dreading this year. When I asked them why, they said it was because it was a leap year and leap years never turned out good for them.

I was surprised. It was a funny thing that I had never even considered it myself. I… actually have NO idea if my bad years (because I DO get them) were leap years or not, and… To be quite honest, although I’m curious, I also don’t want to know. AT ALL. Let the year go by first and then… maybe, am I right?

3a3b67ddd3c9b71f1554f313aa2a0884

After all, life just keeps going and we’re just on the wheel… forever turning.

So with that in mind, I figured this song would be a great tribute to the good and the bad and all the inbetweens of this year already.

I give you The Byrds’ most imfamous song, Turn! Turn! Turn!

divider

LYRICS:

To everything – turn, turn, turn
There is a season – turn, turn, turn
And a time to every purpose under heaven

A time to be born, a time to die
A time to plant, a time to reap
A time to kill, a time to heal
A time to laugh, a time to weep

To everything – turn, turn, turn
There is a season – turn, turn, turn
And a time to every purpose under heaven

A time to build up, a time to break down
A time to dance, a time to mourn
A time to cast away stones
A time to gather stones together

To everything – turn, turn, turn
There is a season – turn, turn, turn
And a time to every purpose under heaven

A time of love, a time of hate
A time of war, a time of peace
A time you may embrace
A time to refrain from embracing

To everything – turn, turn, turn
There is a season – turn, turn, turn
And a time to every purpose under heaven

A time to gain, a time to lose
A time to rend, a time to sew
A time for love, a time for hate
A time for peace, I swear it’s not too late!