[Reckless Beat & SOTD] TobyMac – Steal My Show

RECKLESS BEATS is a musical feature where I incorporate a little music into this bookish blog.

 

So here’s something you probably did not know about me: I really, really love contemporary Christian music.

Not all of it – granted… But the majority of it is pretty sensational. Even if you are not a believer, music is a powerful thing that can reach across every boundary, every hurtle. As I’m sure you all know, I’m agnostic and not one to get behind organized religion, but I am a spiritual person and I *do* believe.

After the shitastical week I had last week, I’m even more assured that in your most trying moments you have to hold on. Whatever your religion, whatever your belief. You MUST keep your faith, call out to your Savior/Allah/Buddha/Yahweh/Kami/Great Spirit/Higher Being/what-have-you and believe that in the end all will be well. (Especially when everything looks like it’s falling apart around you.)

I have a ton of them, but one of my favourite Christian artists (who I didn’t even know was one, at the time) is TobyMac. The very first song I ever heard by him was Phenomenon — which, lemme tell you, WAS, IS, and ALWAYS WILL BE PHENOMENAL. ❤ It’s been my song of the year (many years over), my go-to, feel good, everything’s alright song that I loved, loved, loved to the very bottom of my heart.

Quite some time after learning about Phenomenon, I idiotically found out that TobyMac was part of another Christian group that I long since ADORED… the one and only DC Talk.

(You can imagine my surprise at finding out this news.)

As such, since learning of this, I’ve been an avid follower of all things TobyMac, including his tour which is going on right now (ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THE COUNTRY LFNSFAKDLNAF COME TO THE EAST COAST FOR GOODNESS SAKE!!!!! LFNAKLSna) and all his newest hit songs.

For today, I can’t exactly narrow down my favourites, but I’ll just go with this one. Hope you enjoy~~

I give you TobyMac‘s song Steal My Show!

divider

LYRICS:

Another cold night
Another late flight
It’s almost show time, and Diverse City’s waitin’ on me
We got a packed house, the crowd is callin’ out
They want the beat to drop, but what we really need is You

[Chorus:]
If You wanna steal my show, I’ll sit back and watch You go
If You got somethin’ to say, go on and take it away
Need You to steal my show, can’t wait to watch You go
So take it away

So now the crowd is hype, that you showed up tonight
Anticipatin’, cravin’ somethin’ more than smoke and lights
So I’ll step out the way, I’ll give You center stage
Alright
Spotlight
Give ’em what they came for …

[Chorus]

When You arrive, we come to life
Our hearts collide, they’re beating in the same time
You’re comin’ through, all eyes on You
Our hearts collide, they’re beating in the same time, beating in the same time

No matter who we are, no matter what we do
Every day we can choose to say …

[Chorus]

My life
My plans
My heart
It’s all Yours, God
Take it away
My dreams
My fears
My family
My career
Take it away
Take it away
It’s all Yours, God
Take it away
Take it away
It’s You I wanna live for

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “[Reckless Beat & SOTD] TobyMac – Steal My Show

  1. stephaniesbookreviews March 7, 2016 at 6:09 PM Reply

    Oh how I loved DC Talk!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • amomentsilence March 8, 2016 at 12:10 AM Reply

      I know!! Them and Jars of Clay. Such fond memories…

      Liked by 1 person

      • stephaniesbookreviews March 8, 2016 at 6:42 AM Reply

        Oh Jars of Clay! So good!

        Liked by 1 person

        • amomentsilence March 8, 2016 at 12:21 PM Reply

          My favorite album by JoC is The Eleventh Hour. Granted it was also my first album by them so I’m biased. But it is definitely one I love dearly. Do you like their older stuff or newer stuff better? I’m all very fond of Inland. It was different from what I’m used to, but I really like the vibe and the message of it.

          Liked by 1 person

          • stephaniesbookreviews March 8, 2016 at 1:43 PM Reply

            I’m more familiar with their earlier stuff. Their first album is pretty great. I listened to it all the time when it first came out.

            Liked by 1 person

            • amomentsilence March 9, 2016 at 10:02 AM Reply

              Their very first album *was* amazing. “Flood” might just be one of my favorite songs by them ever.

              I gotta add some of their music to this blog in later Reckless Beats posts ~ :3

              Liked by 1 person

              • stephaniesbookreviews March 9, 2016 at 10:12 AM

                Yes Flood! Also Worlds Apart. I had a friend sing that one in church once and then I was like obsessed with it and listened to it over and over again.

                Liked by 1 person

              • amomentsilence March 9, 2016 at 10:55 AM

                Ahaha, I know that feeling. Sometimes you just hear a song again after so long and suddenly obsess like crazy over it. I once heard Love Song For A Saviour randomly play at work and I literally started singing along right then and there. It freaked all my coworkers out so bad hahah

                Liked by 1 person

LEAVE A REPLY

