[Reckless Beat & SOTD] Disturbed – Sound of Silence (cover)

RECKLESS BEATS is a musical feature where I incorporate a little music into this bookish blog.

 

You have to give credit where it’s due. Simon and Garfunkel made some incredible music that lives in infamy to this day, and yet… there have been few others that’ve made covers of their music worthy of the name.

Driving to work one morning, I got a snippet of Disturbed singing Sound of Silence, and I thought it was atrocious. I didn’t know what was happening, but it just wasn’t working for me.

Then I got to work, PLAYED IT FROM THE BEGINNING, and THEN… the chills started. By the time the song was done, I’d had at least three eargasms in a row and was still shivering all over.

The intensity and building drama of the piece can only really be appreciated by listening to it FROM THE BEGINNING, not throwing you into it somewhere halfway. There’s definite drama there that needs to build up to its heartfelt crescendo. In a way, it reminds me of A Perfect Circle‘s cover of Imagine, which does a similar sort of thing, sounding dark and mysterious, with this heavy, beating rhythm that can only be really appreciated IF YOU LISTEN TO IT FROM THE BEGINNING. If you come in midway, it does nothing for you. In fact, you might even say, “What the fuck?” and turn it off.

Trust me when I say, these slowed down, darker renditions are killin’ it. But you gotta start from 00:00.

But don’t take my word for it. Give it a listen:

I give you Disturbed‘s Simon & Garfunkel cover of Sound of Silence!

divider

LYRICS:

Hello darkness, my old friend
I’ve come to talk with you again
Because a vision softly creeping
Left it’s seeds while I was sleeping
And the vision that was planted in my brain
Still remains within the sound of silence

In restless dreams I walked alone
Narrow streets of cobblestone
‘Neath the halo of a street lamp
I turned my collar to the cold and damp

When my eyes were stabbed
By the flash of a neon light
That split the night
And touched the sound of silence

And in the naked light I saw
Ten thousand people, maybe more
People talking without speaking
People hearing without listening

People writing songs
That voices never share
And no one dare
Disturb the sound of silence

“Fools” said I, “you do not know
Silence like a cancer grows
Hear my words that I might teach you
Take my arms that I might reach you”
But my words like silent raindrops fell
And echoed in the wells of silence

And the people bowed and prayed
To the neon God they made
And the sign flashed out it’s warning
And the words that it was forming

And the sign said
“The words of the prophets
Are written on the subway walls
And tenement halls”
And whispered in the sound of silence

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “[Reckless Beat & SOTD] Disturbed – Sound of Silence (cover)

  1. imyril January 26, 2016 at 4:01 AM Reply

    That’s an awesome cover. I’m not a Disturbed fan, but I do love rock voices – and I particularly love it when (as here) you can hear that the singer in question can really sing. Although it makes me want to go listen to other great covers, so I might lose the rest of the morning to Placebo’s Running up that Hill…

    Liked by 1 person

    • amomentsilence January 26, 2016 at 11:46 AM Reply

      Oh gods, that Placebo cover is chilling. Such a good way to lose your morning. So gorgeous! Don’t you love it when covers are done in such an enchanting way?

      Thanks for stopping by and for enjoying the post!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Anastasia February 11, 2016 at 6:59 AM Reply

    His voice is stunning! so touching! The feels ~ I almost cried when I listened to this

    Liked by 1 person

    • amomentsilence February 11, 2016 at 2:00 PM Reply

      Wow… I’m so honored to hear you had such a response to it. So glad to have shared this song with you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

LEAVE A REPLY

