[Day 12] HauntoberFest – The October Faction

hauntoberfest header3-EDITTEDBANNER

divider

Title: The October Faction

Author: Steve Niles & Damien Worm

Page Length: 152 pages

Buy it here: Amazon | B&N | Goodreads

Synopsis:

The October Faction details the adventures of retired monster-hunter Frederick Allan and his family… which include a thrill-killer, a witch, and a warlock. Because sometimes crazy is the glue that binds a family together.

divider

 QUOTE

 “What did you make me do, you fucking prick?”
― Niles & Worm, The October Faction

divider

 

Why did I chose this book?

Sometimes a little family is all it takes to get the job done. Although I won’t claim this book to be perfect, I *did* like some of the general language and conceptualization going on in here especially in the dark imagery and some of the metaphysical musings of the characters. Sadly, it’s a really, REALLY slow story though, which can turn off some people. But I see potential! — and tons of weird shit to pick up on and run with to enrich the story along the way.

I figured we also needed a book in here about a family of freaks–*coughcough* I mean, monster hunters. Because… well, why the fuck not? 😛

Also, ARTTTTTTTT.

6a0105352227a9970c01b7c6d69196970b-800wi

Lastly — it’s called OCTOBER Faction, for cryin’ out loud. How could I not?

What I love/like about it:

  • The art. I know it might not be to some people’s styles, but for me? Totally worked.
  • The siblings. They’re outstanding. Couldn’t ask for better sibs than them. xD
  • A vibe I’m picking up on, which I won’t even VAGUELY allude to, but it has something to do with the son, his sister, and… things. Yeah. That’s it. But if I’m even kinda right, then HOMG YES. ❤ ❤ ❤

 

FINAL RATING

 

Warnings or Triggers

Gore and disturbing imagery, but nothing worse than usual. 8D


 

ALTERNATIVE TITLES FOR THE DAY

Today’s alt’s are various horror-esque manga (that I love). Who knows? You might find something new and awesome to obsess over!

    

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

LEAVE A REPLY

