[Day 9] HauntoberFest – The Complete Works of Edgar Allen Poe

hauntoberfest header3-EDITTEDBANNER

divider

Title: The Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allen Poe

AuthorEdgar Allen PoeDawn B. Sova (Introduction)

Page Length: 1024 pages

Buy it here: AmazonGoodreads

Synopsis: The unabridged Edgar Allan Poe contains all of Poe’s classic tales and most haunting poems – presented, for the first time, in the order he originally wrote them. This complete collection of Poe’s versatile genius lets you share his journeys into the wondrous and macabre that have entertained and fascinated readers for generations. Not a word has been deleted!

divider

 QUOTES

 “Once upon a midnight dreary, while I pondered, weak and weary,
Over many a quaint and curious volume of forgotten lore—
While I nodded, nearly napping, suddenly there came a tapping,
As of some one gently rapping, rapping at my chamber door.
“’Tis some visitor,” I muttered, “tapping at my chamber door—
Only this and nothing more.””

― Poe, The Raven

*

“”Villains!” I shrieked, “dissemble no more! I admit the deed! –tear up the planks! here, here! –It is the beating of his hideous heart!””

― Poe, The Tell-Tale Heart

divider

 

Why did I chose this book?

We all need a little Poe in our lives. (That includes the singer, cause she’s fucking incredible as well.)

If you haven’t taken the time to read some of Poe’s works… you really are missing out on something wonderful. I implore you — I beseech you. READ SOME POE. If you read nothing else this month, this year, your whole life… I ask you to read some of Poe’s works. His poetry is exceptional and will make you a fan of poetry within minutes. There’s a certain rhythm and thrum to his works (like the beating of a heart perhaps?? Ho ho… *smirk*) that lures you in, ensnares you, and keeps you haunted, like the author himself, to the very end.

What I love/like about it:

  • This particular edition really is “COMPLETE” unlike so many others that claim to be a complete omnibus edition, but end up missing this one or that one. (And often some of the favourites or more well-known ones, too!)
  • The binding on this edition is phenomenal. I’ve had the opportunity to hold it, although I don’t own it (YET!) and it really feels like something that could survive the Apocalypse.
  • As I mentioned above, his poetry is my favourite, but I also love his stories as well.

 

FINAL RATING

 

Warnings or Triggers

(highlight below to see)

Dark tormented thoughts abound. So beware of that. But anything too visual , trigger-worthy, or terrifying? Eh… not really.


 

ALTERNATIVE TITLES FOR THE DAY

    

I was thinking of adding other poets, but… to be honest, I can think of none better than he, the dark and tormented Poe. These alternatives are short story collections that might dazzle, if so inclined…

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

LEAVE A REPLY

