Discussion – What are your bookish pet peeves?

maxresdefault33

We all have them. You and I both know. But what are they and why do they affect us so?

I know I’ve got tons and tons. Some people hate when someone spoils a book’s plot or ending. Others simply hate being told a book is “just like so and so’s other book, and if you liked/hated that, you’ll love/hate this one.”

What’s your pet peeve when it comes to books, reading, or anything to do with the like?

I’ve always hated it when people tell me what I should read. Not what they THINK I should read – as in, suggestions or recommendations – but what I SHOULD have read or MUST READ THIS INSTANT because “you’re a reader, how have you not read this book?!” They think simply because I love to read that that suddenly gives them to right to tell me what I should be reading and when (as in, RIGHT NOW).

It’s one thing if you ask for recommendations. It’s another entirely when you’re in a store or a random function or sitting in a public place, and someone randomly comes up to you to talk about their favourite title and why you should buy it/pick it up/HERE’S A FREE COPY! TELL YOUR FRIENDS!

Facepalm

tumblr_n3log0dGmN1rkllwzo1_250

I think people forget that even though this sort of thing happens a lot online (with giveaways, book blitz, book blog tours, and the like), the people who are entering these events or even looking at them, actually WANT to. They’re not being forced to read or check out or hear you prattle on about a book unless it interests them and they do the legwork. It’s their prerogative, and theirs alone.  Doing the same thing in a bookstore, coffee shop, and whatnot is just plain rude and annoying as all hell.

So what do you think? Does that bother you as well?

Comment and let me know just what book/reading related pet peeve irks you lately!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Discussion – What are your bookish pet peeves?

  1. annarobots September 1, 2015 at 4:31 PM Reply

    Oh no I LOVE being recommended books!! I won’t necessarily read it but I like that someone loves a book so much!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • amomentsilence September 5, 2015 at 12:42 PM Reply

      Recommendations are only good if they’re targeted towards people that would actually like or enjoy whatever’s being recommended. If you’re the type of person who likes anything or doesn’t mind getting random recommendations, then that’s fine. But… carelessly recommending something you love to just anyone can actually do more damage than good, I think. :/

      For instance, if you love yaoi or yuri or anti-religious themed books, you might not want to go to someone you know is SUPER religious and hates yaoi/yuri/LGBTQ-themed anything and recommend them your favourite book on the topic. Word of mouth goes both ways, good and bad.

      Like

      • annarobots September 5, 2015 at 3:45 PM Reply

        True indeed! I suppose I’d always do a bit of my own research too. And give thoughtful recommendations I hope!

        Liked by 1 person

        • amomentsilence September 5, 2015 at 10:34 PM Reply

          Then you would be a terrific rec’er, and I’d be pleased to get recommendations from you. 😉

          Liked by 1 person

  2. JEN Garrett September 2, 2015 at 1:01 AM Reply

    OK, when I saw your title I thought: “Oh, I just hate those hanging modifiers… or those dialogue tags that actually belong to the person not speaking… or those POV jumps; that is the WORST!”

    Oh.

    You meant…

    I’m such a writer.

    My bookish pet peeve is when people compare the book to the movie. Like if the movie didn’t follow the book then it’s automatically bad (Never mind it had AWESOME special effects, and the plot was still engaging). Or if they like the ending of the movie better, then the book is bad (Never mind the characters were much more developed and the ending more logically believable in the book).

    Listen People, a book is a book and a movie is a movie. Different medium, different creation. Period.

    OK, I’m done.

    Liked by 1 person

    • amomentsilence September 5, 2015 at 12:32 PM Reply

      Aha, well those would be “writing” or “editorial” pet peeves, which is probably another topic of discussion I might bring up because I have A LOT of those as well.

      And yesssss~ I agree with you on that! It’s one thing if they ACTUALLY butcher the movie to the point that it gives the book a bad image. It’s another thing entirely when both are good, but the one isn’t a carbon copy of the other.

      Like you said, it’s not supposed to be! One’s a book, the other’s a movie. One will always focus more on certain aspects to enhance the media type.

      This really shouldn’t be that difficult a concept for people to understand. oTL

      Like

  3. Anastasia September 5, 2015 at 6:07 AM Reply

    Haha I like book recommendations but there’s so many o.O and most of the people have no clue what I like and it’s like recommendation after recommendation….but yeah it’s okay. I think I have bookish pet peeves but nothing too serious. And some things that I am annoyed by, I am guilty of doing…

    Liked by 1 person

    • amomentsilence September 5, 2015 at 12:26 PM Reply

      Exactly my point! I’m all for a recommendation here or there, or if I specifically ask for something because I’m needing something different, but when people just come out of nowhere and start bombarding you with recs, it’s just a little crazy. @__@

      Haha, what things are you also guilty of doing that irritate you? xD

      Liked by 1 person

      • Anastasia September 6, 2015 at 6:27 AM Reply

        Hmm comparing books to movies, recommendig books to people, saying I don’t like the book but then when someone says they like it I go to very diplomatic mode, book snobbery, stickers in books but I worked in second hand store for a while and it’s worse writing the price in the book o.O

        Liked by 1 person

LEAVE A REPLY

