[Reckless Beat & SOTD] Dashboard Confessional – Vindicated

RECKLESS BEATS is a musical feature where I incorporate a little music into this bookish blog.

**I know, I’m off by a day, but I was really out of it yesterday, so your weekly Reckless Beat is coming to you live on Tuesday! 😀 **

Today’s song of the day is an oldie but uhh, such a goodie. 😉

Dashboard Confessional fans! Where y’all at? Pfftt~ It’s actually been a REALLY long time since I’ve listened to any of their music, but I know I used to love it.

So story-time:

Just the other day at work, I needed some music to get me through (without losing my mind) and I just – OUT OF NOWHERE, HONEST TO GOODNESS TRUTH – burst out in song, singing quite loudly for all to hear:

“VINDICATED! I AM SELFISH! I AM WRONG! I AM RIGHT, I SWEAR I’M RIGHT! SWEAR I KNEW IT ALL ALONG! AND I AM FLAWED! BUT I AM CLEANING UP SO WELL! I AM SEEING IN ME NOW THE THINGS YOU SWORE YOU SAW YOURSELF!”

. . .

EHEM

…I may have scared a few coworkers. May have also brought a few over to the darkside as they rushed over to sing along with me in boisterous, soulful, slightly off-key voices.

Y’know.

These things happen.

tumblr_inline_nny01tGsxF1sku1vp_500

Here’s Vindicated, everyone!

divider

LYRICS:

Hope dangles on a string
Like slow spinning redemption
Winding in and winding out
The shine of it has caught my eye

And roped me in
So mesmerizing, so hypnotizing
I am captivated

[Chorus]
I am Vindicated
I am selfish
I am wrong
I am right
I swear I’m right
I swear I knew it all along

And I am flawed
But I am cleaning up so well
I am seeing in me now the things you swore you saw yourself

So clear
Like the diamond in your ring
Cut to mirror your intentions
Oversized and overwhelmed
The shine of which has caught my eye
And rendered me so isolated, so motivated
I am certain now that

[Chorus]

So turn
Up the corners of your lips
Part them and feel my finger tips
Trace the moment, fall forever
Defense is paper thin
Just one touch and I’d be in
Too deep now to ever swim against the current
So let me slip away [3x]
So let me slip against the current
So let me slip away [4x]

[Chorus]

Slight hope
It dangles on a string
Like slow spinning redemption…

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “[Reckless Beat & SOTD] Dashboard Confessional – Vindicated

  1. rabbitearsblog September 5, 2015 at 3:07 AM Reply

    Awesome post! I just tagged you for “The Reading Habits Tag”

    https://rabbitearsblog.wordpress.com/2015/09/05/the-reading-habits-tag/

    Liked by 1 person

LEAVE A REPLY

