[Book Review] Americosis Vol. I by Haydn Wilks

Americosis Vol. 1

(Americosis, #1)

Haydn Wilks

What rating would you give it?
4 of 5 Stars

Give us a summary.

(Goodreads Description)
A naked man arrives in New Mexico claiming to have traveled through time.
He says that he’s America’s savior.

A bizarre sexually-transmitted infection in New York takes control of people’s bodies and burns them out in an incessant drive to infect others.

And a Presidential candidate is conversing with angels.
His aides think he’s crazy.
The electorate might not agree with them.

It could all be madness. It might be the apocalypse.

Americosis.

An epic genre-bending mash-up of sci-fi, horror, thriller & dark comedy.

VOLUME 1
This short novella introduces the series. It’ll leave you begging for more…

What did you think of the book?

This book was weird as fuck, and yet… I just couldn’t put it down! When I got to the end, I was just in shock because: how the hell could it end like that?!?! I still have questions that need answers! Like what the hell is going on with the presidential candidate and who is this Savior? And just… EVERYTHING! I won’t lie, I am thoroughly intrigued and demand more immediately!

Americosis is a fast-paced short that keeps you engaged and intrigued ’til the very bitter not-end. The description is exceptionally accurate: this is a book of madness and violence and crazy things happening one after the other, all leading up to… something. It’s an introduction to what will undoubtedly be a fantastic tale of a world on the edge of falling apart — and no one knows it yet.

Except maybe The Savior.

You never know. He could actually be who he says he is.

I was getting such 12 Monkeys vibe from that guy. I just hope it lives up to all the hype I’m throwing at it.

I am thoroughly disturbed and intrigued and wanting more of Americosis! This is one title I’ll be putting on my watchlist for when the next book comes out!

Lastly – this is to any potential readers – I suggest reading this in one shot instead of over several days. As an example, I started reading this yesterday during my lunch break, but couldn’t finish it then. Here I picked it up two hours ago and had to just reread everything again because I was SO FRIGGIN LOST. The good thing though, is that it’s a quick read. So just give yourself time to get through it in a single go! :3

Any warnings you wish to make for your readers?

There is some strong religious and political talk in this book. The opinions of which might irritate some (as they did me, at first). There is also strong language (use of the g-damn word), violence (gorey, too!), and sexual situations.

Does it count towards any reading challenges?

Tons and tons, per usual.

Would you recommend this book?

 

Was that even a legitimate question?

Of COURSE I recommend this weird sh—

GO GET A COPY NOW!

 

Reviewed by AMS (amomentsilence)

Publisher:  Dead Bird Press
Publication Date: July 2015
Format: eBook, RvC
Pages: 61
Genre & Themes: Dystopian, Thriller, Horror,
Novelette, Science Fiction, Short, Time Travel,
Supernatural, Fantasy, Mystery, Politics,
Sexually Transmitted Diseases, Theory Talk,
Religion vs. Science
Age: Adult
Reviewer: AMS (amomentsilence)
Source: Provided by Publisher upon request
Challenge2015 Good Reads Reading Challenge (135),
52 Books in 52 WeeksYou Read How Many Books?,
Read A Million Pages105 Reading Challenge,
Ethereal 2015105 Reading Challenge,
2015 New To You Reading Challenge
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

LEAVE A REPLY

