meet the blogger : issue #4 (This Or That Book Tag)

I found this tag on Analee’s blog, Book Snacks, and decided to do it for my meet the blogger feature this week. Enjoy!

“Rules” are as follows:

MEET THE BLOGGER is a new feature I’m doing here on Reckless Indulgence to allow readers to get to know their bloggers (and, for me, mostly to pass the time). I always do a lot of surveys/meme-quiz things and then never post them anywhere. I figured, it would be fun to have a little section on my blog just for that purpose! Sometimes the questions will be specifically related to the topic of this blog. Other times… not so much.

This is more an exercise for me to try socializing with others than anything else. 😄 An avenue for discussion, if you will. You can definitely run with this meme on your own blogs. I have no problem whatsoever with that and would enjoy seeing your answers to the questions I post and answer myself! Just tag your post  with the words: MEET THE BLOGGER and then link back to any of my meet the blogger posts so I can see what you wrote!

divider

meet the blogger

1. Audio or physical copy?

Physical ONLY. I am soooo not a fan of audiobooks. Probably because I can’t stand hearing someone else’s voice

2. Paperback or Hardback?

PAPERBACK. I am not a fan of hardback unless it’s for posterity’s sake. (Or I simply couldn’t wait until the paperback version comes out.)

3. Fiction or non-fiction?

Fiction, fiction, fiction! (Nonfiction only equals about 20% of my reading time.)

4. Fantasy world or real life issues?

Fantasy, preferable. I get enough RL problems to last a century or more. I don’t need to read about more of it in my books.

On very rare occasion I might break that rule – but generally? It’s not happening.

5. Harry Potter or Twilight?

Is this a real question? Harry Potter – all the way!

6. Borrow or buy?

BUY. I hate borrowing books. I never want to return them. Nor do I like lending them out to anyone either. I’m a bookDRAGON after all. We hoard and are very bad at sharing.

7. Monster reads or short & sweet?

Hm… depends I think. I’ve never really been a fan of short&sweet unless it was in the form of short stories in an anthology of collection. I have always preferred and love-love-LOVED monster books, but I find myself having less and less time to actually sit down and read them. I hate hurrying through a book simply because I don’t have time or am supposed to get it down by a certain time. For that reason, I try to read books right now that I can basically get through in a single sitting (or a couple sittings at most).

This, however, does not mean these books are in any way short though. Oftentimes, it simply means the book requires little brainpower to muscle through and is read simply for the entertainment factor, even if still 300 pages or more.

8. Starry eyed romance or full of action?

Depends again on the situation. Romance is okay in moderation, unless that’s what I was reading the book for. Otherwise, I prefer world-building, and LOTS OF IT. I don’t really need a lot of crazy action in my books, but I really love to fall into the worlds of books and the elaborate everyday-ness of something… other.

9. Curl up in your snuggie or bathe in the sun?

Curl up nice ‘n comfy, of course! I might be a dragon, but I’m no fire beast. I don’t like the heat or the sun, so you’ll find me holed away in my lair, hoarding my treasure and sipping on coffee, tea, or wine.

(Hey! You never know what I might be in the mood for. 😉 )

10. Coffee or tea?

BOTH.

divider

I tag… I’m too lazy to tag. Whoever wants at it can have it! 😄

I’d love to hear your answers, so if you do this tag, comment below with a link to your post!

6 thoughts on “meet the blogger : issue #4 (This Or That Book Tag)

  1. stephaniesbookreviews June 7, 2015 at 11:10 AM Reply

    I definitely prefer fiction, too! I might read only 1-2 non-fiction a year – and usually only when a funny lady has a book – Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, Mindy Kaling…

    Liked by 1 person

    • amomentsilence June 8, 2015 at 8:49 AM Reply

      Oh wow! Ahaha, I don’t think I’m quite THAT frugal with reading non-fiction (but then again, some years….) So you’re more into bios and memoirs and the like? 🙂 I like reference books, microhistory, guide books, infobooks and the like~ Pop culture stuff sometimes catches my eye as well, especially if it’s fandom related.

      Tina Fey is a pretty awesome lady but I haven’t read her book yet. Have you read “Bossypants”, yet? I feel like I’d probably be very amused with that. (And probably Amy Poehler’s “Yes Please.”)

      Like

      • stephaniesbookreviews June 8, 2015 at 9:20 AM Reply

        I actually didn’t like Bossypants as much as I thought I would, though I love Tina Fey. I actually liked Amy Poehlers book more. I generally don’t care for any of those things you mentioned haha. I’m not a big fan of memoirs either unless I really like the person. Give me fiction!! Haha

        Liked by 1 person

        • amomentsilence June 8, 2015 at 11:23 AM Reply

          Oh? Well then I guess I’ll have to see if/when I get the chance to read it. 😛 But I really not surprised you don’t read those genres of nonfiction. Not too many people do. xD *is weird like that* So what books are you reading right now? Fiction goodness, I hope? 😉

          Liked by 1 person

          • stephaniesbookreviews June 8, 2015 at 12:18 PM Reply

            All of my friends at work read mostly nonfiction so we never really have book things to talk about. I’ve been on. Contemporary kick lately. I think I just don’t want to think too much haha. But I have several mystery/crime novels on deck.

            Liked by 1 person

            • amomentsilence June 8, 2015 at 1:03 PM Reply

              Oooh~ Sounds promising! 🙂 Let me know how your read go! I always love hearing that someone’s read a good book. 😉 I know I’ve got a tons of books piling up on my kindle and next to my bed as well. I’ve actually stopped looking. It’s almost depressing how I have no time to read them. (At least not till next weekend!)

              As to the first part of what you said: Really? Well I guess it depends in actually, where you work, what you do. Depending on the job, different types of people are involved, y’know? Obviously I’m surrounded by people who mostly read fiction and the like, and almost neever read nonfiction.

              Liked by 1 person

LEAVE A REPLY

