[Throwback Beat] Dido’s “Here With Me” and “Hunter”

RECKLESS BEATS is a musical feature where I incorporate a little music into this bookish blog.

I’m featuring a couple oldies by Dido: Here With Me and Hunter. Actually, Here With Me was the very first song I ever heard by her, so it has sentimental meaning to me (Though, undoubtedly not what you’re thinking.) Hunter is just an awesome reminiscing song. Lots of memories there, too. Any fans out there? What’s your favourite Dido song?

Here With Me

Hunter

 

LYRICS:

HERE WITH ME
I didn’t hear you leave
I wonder how am I still here
And I don’t want to move a thing
It might change my memory

[Chorus:]
Oh I am what I am
I’ll do what I want
But I can’t hide
I won’t go
I won’t sleep
I can’t breathe
Until you’re resting here with me
I won’t leave
I can’t hide
I cannot be
Until you’re resting here with me

I don’t want to call my friends
They might wake me from this dream
And I can’t leave this bed
Risk forgetting all that’s been

[Chorus]

 

HUNTER
With one light on in one room
I know you’re up when I get home
With one small step upon the stair
I know your look when I get there
If you were a king up there on your throne
would you be wise enough to let me go
for this queen you think you own
Wants to be a hunter again
wants to see the world alone again
to take a chance on life again
so let me go

The unread book and painful look
the tv’s on, the sound is down
One long pause
then you begin
oh look what the cat’s brought in
If you were a king up there on your throne
would you be wise enough to let me go
for this queen you think you own
Wants to be a hunter again
wants to see the world alone again
to take a chance on life again
so let me go
let me leave

For the crown you’ve placed upon my head feels too heavy now
and I don’t know what to say to you but I’ll smile anyhow
and all the time I’m thinking, thinking

I want to be a hunter again
want to see the world alone again
to take a chance on life again
so let me go.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

LEAVE A REPLY

