Books ‘N Tunes #5: The Specific Heat Capacity Of Love

Welcome back to another installment of my Books ‘N Tunes Reading Challenge!

So this week, we’ve got something really fun in store: AN ENTIRE PLAYLIST. Yes you read right. This… this… ASDFGHJKLKJHGFDSASDFGHJKJ book… LITERALLY CONJURED UP A WHOLE LIST OF HEARTBREAKING SONGS THAT COULD MAKE A HEARTLESS WRETCH CRY.

So I hope you enjoy! 😀 😀 😀 😀

Oh yes, AND BY THE WAY — My review is more rant than review. BUT IT’S NECESSARY. Read it. You will understand.

The Specific Heat Capacity Of Love
by Old Xian & Moss

Publisher: —
Publication Date: 2012
Format: electronic, ebook
Pages: 35
Genre: Tragedy, Romance, Slice of Life,
Shounen Ai, “Male” Friendship, M/M Friendship
(Possible Romance), Love, Trust, Nature,
Environment, Unlikely Friends, Separation,
Survivor, Major Character Death, Hurt/Comfort,
Animals, Brutal and Senseless Killing, Slashy,
Fantasy-esque/Surrealism, Wish-fulfillment,
Manhua, Full Color, Animal Characteristic,
Drama, Sweet’n’Cute But SAD ASS Story
Age: OT / Young Adult
Reviewer: AMS (amomentsilence)
Source: Click here to read.
Challenges: 2015 Good Reads Reading Challenge (42),
52 Books in 52 WeeksYou Read How Many Books?,
2015 LGBT Reading Challenge (SA),
Read A Million PagesEthereal 2015Books N Tunes,
105 Reading Challenge (Category: 2, 3, 4, 9, 10),
2015 Graphic Novel and Comic Reading Challenge
,
2015 New To You Reading Challenge (New Work)

SUMMARY

(synopsis taken from Publisher)

A girl goes to the seaside on her class field, accidentally meeting a mysterious boy who tells her a tale of transcendence and love.


Summarize in a word?:

HEARTBREAKING.

RATING

This one gets 5 Stars++++++++++++++++++.

THOUGHTS & REVIEW

 

MUST STAY STRONG - WHAT A TERRIBLE DAY FOR RAIN - DID YOU JUST

MUST STAY STRONG – AH, WHAT A TERRIBLE DAY FOR RAIN

MUST…. STAY… STRONG!
I… I just… Usually I don’t get emotional over anything but this—!
ASDFGHJKL:”:LKJHGFDSXDCFVGHJKLMJNHGFD

 

original (3)

 

Just leave me to die.

 

original (4)

 

The Specific Heat Capacity of Love,” or as I like to call it “The Most HORRIFIC, TEAR-JERKIN’, TEAR MY HEART OPEN WHYDONTCHA Book That Has Ever Existed” will forever be the bane of my existence. Because that — is its real title. I think something DIED IN ME after reading this short, 35-pager… something I doubt I will ever recover again.

The art is exquisite. It’s in gorgeous full color too, so there is SO MUCH MORE DEPTH AND GLORIOUSNESS TO EACH PAGE. It leaves you breathless. The story itself is sadly quite short, but that’s actually the point. It’s so… tragic, and overpowering. You will not know what to do with yourself afterwards.

When I finished reading this horrid little asdfghjkl;’lkjhgfdsadfghj back in March (I think… the 13th? or something…) I was just in shock. I STILL have NO WORDS for what I read, or for HOW I didn’t know about the inhumane topic the story talks about in great detail.

HEADS UP Y’ALL. THIS IS NOT ONLY A REVIEW BUT AN INSANELY IMPORTANT TIL (Today I Learned) WHICH Y’ALL SHOULD BE MADE AWARE OF:

I just learned about some horrible because of a manhua I was reading: shark finning.

Pictures are of a graphic nature. Proceed at your own discretion.

The cost of this disgusting act.

WHAT THEY *DO* TO THEM.

THE HELL PEOPLE! WHAT THE ACTUAL FUCK IS WRONG WITH YOU?!?! Listen. I understand if you want to eat the fucking fish. I GET that. But why the hell can’t you just kill it properly and put the poor thing out of its misery first?! Why oh WHY would you LEAVE IT ALIVE AND IN PAIN TO DIE THROUGH SUFFOCATION AND DROWNING VIA A SLOW AND GROTESQUELY PAINFUL DEATH?!?

Assdffgghjjkkllllkjoiuuttfds Jfc Jfc jfc JFCCCCCCCCCHRIST what the hell is wrong with people? I don’t know if I’m more horrified I didn’t know about this or simply disgusted with humanity as a whole.

PLEASE. FOR ALL THAT IS GOOD AND HOLY IN THIS WORLD: STOP. SHARK. FINNING.

As to any warnings I would give…

DO NOT READ UNLESS YOU WISH TO LOSE PART OF YOUR SOUL.

Because that is the price you will pay for reading the most tragically moving short I’ve ever laid eyes on.

You’ve been forewarned.

Would I recommend?

I DON’T KNOW!! I feel like EVERYONE should read this because it has such an important message (alongside an incredible beautiful and heartbreaking tale)… Yet at the same time, this book is PAINFUL. There is SO MUCH PAIN. I don’t want to send people to their early graves yet either…

tumblr_mb4ph0l93x1rziwwco1_500


ZE PLAYLIST & LYRICS

(Because one song just isn’t enough.)

1. Gorillaz – On Melancholy Hill

~LYRICS IN THE SONG THAT RESONATE STRONGEST~

Are you here with me?
Just looking out on the day of another dream

Well, you can’t get what you want but you can get me
So let’s set out to sea, love

2. Aqua – We Belong To The Sea

~LYRICS IN THE SONG THAT RESONATE STRONGEST~

Come on into my waves
You can sleep in my caves
Let me know that you will hold me
Till the tides take my soul
.
We belong to the sea
To the waves you and me
Living in the ocean so blue
We belong to the sea
Open wide being free
A minute everlasting with you
3. Rie Fu – 2cm

~LYRICS IN THE SONG THAT RESONATE STRONGEST~
(The whole song works, but these lyrics in particular…)

We’re only 2cm away now, I’ll be home again
I’ll be home again to a place that might have been
Where people in the past times thought they were waterfalls around the edge of the sea
Catch a drop of tear for me and tell me who you’d be
.
Cause our love is deeper and believer of the sea
Cause you’re the waves of my ocean
You’re the waves of my ocean
4. Bic Runga – Heal

~LYRICS IN THE SONG THAT RESONATE STRONGEST~

Don’t forget me
Bring me down
Don’t let me promise you
Things I cannot do
This infection adds to my collection
Hoard my pain
And show it to you one day
You alone indeed
You sing so adamantly
And it fills my mind with thoughts so fine
Don’t ask too much of me oh Heal me now, heal me now
Heal me now, heal me now Don’t erase me
Cut me out replace me
I’m still here
I’m not going anywhere
You alone indeed
You sing so adamantly
Let it free what ever’s locked inside
Don’t ask too much of me
5. Assemblage23 – Lullaby

~LYRICS IN THE SONG THAT RESONATE STRONGEST~
(The whole song)

May you find solace in the gentle arms of sleep
Despite the wolves outside your door
In time you will see them all as harmless
And their idle threats easy to ignore

And if ever fate should choose to smite you
Stand your ground, never walk away
Please don’t ever let the world defeat you
Don’t get buried in its decay

Read more…

6. Mae – The Sun & The Moon

~LYRICS IN THE SONG THAT RESONATE STRONGEST~

But when worlds collide,
and all that I have is all that I want.
The words seem to flow
and the thoughts they keep running.
And all that I have is yours.
All that I am is yours.
Ohh…
Painted skies.
I’ve seen so many that cannot compare
to your ocean eyes.
7. Radiohead – How To Disappear Completely

~LYRICS IN THE SONG THAT RESONATE STRONGEST~
(The whole song)

That there
That’s not me
I go
Where I please
I walk through walls
I float down the Liffey
I’m not here
This isn’t happening
I’m not here
I’m not here
In a little while
I’ll be gone
The moment’s already passed
Yeah it’s gone
And I’m not here
This isn’t happening
I’m not here
I’m not here
8. Mirah – Archipelago

~LYRICS IN THE SONG THAT RESONATE STRONGEST~

So goodbye my love,
I’ll miss it when it’s gone.
Goodbye my love,
the ship is shipping on.
Goodbye my love,
I’ll give it up into the fog.
Goodbye my love,
I think I knew it all along.
9. Keane – We Might As Well Be Strangers

~LYRICS IN THE SONG THAT RESONATE STRONGEST~

I don’t know your face, no more
Or feel the touch that I adore
I don’t know your face, no more
It’s just a place I’m looking for
We might as well be strangers in another town
We might as well be living in a different world
We might as well
We might as well
We might as well
10. Idiot Pilot – Strange We Should Meet Here

~LYRICS IN THE SONG THAT RESONATE STRONGEST~
(The whole song)

A moment we die
Our souls will re-allign
A murder so divine
We’ll heaven hell
Everything is fine, everything is fineCome on, I killed you anyway
You remind me
Come on, face the gun
Of someone I used to know
Come on, I killed you anyway
You remind me
Come on, face the gun
Of someone I used to know.
11. Keane – Somewhere Only We Know

~LYRICS IN THE SONG THAT RESONATE STRONGEST~
(The whole song)

I walked across an empty land
I knew the pathway like the back of my hand
I felt the earth beneath my feet
Sat by the river and it made me complete

Oh simple thing where have you gone?
I’m getting old and I need something to rely on
So tell me when you’re gonna let me in
I’m getting tired and I need somewhere to begin

I came across a fallen tree
I felt the branches of it looking at me
Is this the place we used to love?
Is this the place that I’ve been dreaming of?

Read more…

12. Cat Power – Sea of Love

~LYRICS IN THE SONG THAT RESONATE STRONGEST~
(The whole song)

Come with me my love
To the sea
The sea of love
I want to tell you
How much I love youDo you remember
When we met?
That’s the day I knew you were my pet
I want to tell you
How much I love you

.

BONUS TRACKS:

13. Tracy Chapman – You’re The One

~LYRICS IN THE SONG THAT RESONATE STRONGEST~
(The whole song)

Some say you’re bitter
Think you’re mean
Uncouth untamed and unrestrained
But I think you’re sensitive and sweet
Stay as you are don’t change a thing
.
Let’em talk you down
Call you names
My mind’s made up
It ain’t gonna change
I’m sure in my heart
Happy and free
You’re the one you’re the one
You’re the one for me
14. Ben Jelen – Give It All Away

~LYRICS IN THE SONG THAT RESONATE STRONGEST~

But with demons sitting at my side,
An angel’s come to ask me why
And slowly I give up inside to say
To feel alive, I’d give it all away
15. Nine Inch Nails – Something I Can Never Have

~LYRICS IN THE SONG THAT RESONATE STRONGEST~

I still recall the taste of your tears.
Echoing your voice just like the ringing in my ears.
My favorite dreams of you still wash ashore.
Scraping through my head ’till I don’t want to sleep anymore.
.
This thing is slowly taking me apart.
Grey would be the color if I had a heart.
.
In this place it seems like such a shame.
Though it all looks different now,
I know it’s still the same
Everywhere I look you’re all I see.
Just a fading fucking reminder of who I used to be.
.
I just want something I can never have
16. The Features – The Idea of Growing Old

~LYRICS IN THE SONG THAT RESONATE STRONGEST~

We can talk all night, we can talk all day
We can play charades when there is nothing to say
You turn me on to the idea of growing oldNow it won’t be long
No, it won’t be long
Whoa, whoa, whoaYou turn me on to the idea of growing old
Turn me on to the idea of growing old
We can lay around and count the number of times
I’ve acted foolish and you’ve rolled your eyes
You turn me on to the idea of growing old

Reason for choosing these songs

Each one has it’s own special attribute that somehow resonates with me.

I could go into exact detail, but that would be giving too much of this story away, and it’s short enough as is. You need to read it for yourself to see what I mean, and then listen to the songs.

IT’LL JUST MAKE SENSE THAT WAY.

However, if you still want some vague reasons, we can do that too… (Just be prepared for some spoilers, even out of the highlighted areas.)

Track 1: From Bird’s POV. A song from Bird to Fish.

Track 2: Alternating between Bird and Fish’s POV. A song to each other.

Track 3: From Bird’s POV to Fish as he contemplates joining him once again in the ocean.

Track 4: Fish’s last theme song (but can also be seen as both Fish & Bird’s song, from the time of their separation)

Track 5: From Girl on the Beach to Bird & Fish as she reunites them together. Or even from Bird to Fish, or Fish to Bird… a death song. A requiem.

Track 6: Bird & Fish’s first meeting, and probably every one thereafter

Track 7: Bird’s theme song.

Track 8: Bird coming to terms with [HIGHLIGHT FOR SPOILERS] Fish’s death[/HIGHLIGHT]

Track 9: From Bird’s POV after so long being alone, missing Fish, missing what they once had and mourning what was lost

Track 10: Yet another death song, but this one more specifically from Bird’s POV. How he feels [HIGHLIGHT FOR SPOILERS]it’s his fault Fish died, and how he wishes someone would just end his life too so the two of them can be reunited, and “the moment we die, our souls will re-align.”[/HIGHLIGHT]

Track 11: From Bird’s POV. Life without Fish, and how he came to be on the beach in the first place. All his endless wandering finally brought him back here. To this place, where he lost Fish forever.

Track 12: Friendship/Love theme song; from Fish to Bird, from Bird to Fish.

Track 13: How Bird probably saw Fish / Probably also how Fish saw Bird (but we’ll never really know since we don’t get any of the story from his POV — still I think it can be inferred seeing his reaction to Fish whenever they were together)

Track 14: From Bird’s POV. The “angel” is the girl on the beach, the “demons” are mankind in general and the horrible memories of what happened. He’d “give it all away” to “feel alive again” by [HIGHLIGHT]ending his life so he can be with Fish again.[/HIGHLIGHT]

Track 15: From Bird’s POV at the start of the story, he’s sitting there, remembering, dying, crying, wanting something he can never have.

Track 16: Though this one doesn’t completely fit the story, somehow… every time I hear it now I think of them. I think of it from both of their POV when they first met and however long a time they were together. Before meeting each other, they must have both been very lonely creatures, sort of shunned from their own kind. But after meeting and knowing one another… they… sort of “turned each other on to the idea of growing old” AKA “living a long, happy life”, so long as they had each other. So long… as they were together. And… uggghhuu… T________________T *UGLY SOBBING*


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Books ‘N Tunes #5: The Specific Heat Capacity Of Love

  1. Sophia Rose April 18, 2015 at 9:24 PM Reply

    Oh you made me have the feels just by reading your words and playlist. That is awful and cruel. I didn’t know about it either.

    Liked by 1 person

    • amomentsilence April 20, 2015 at 8:29 PM Reply

      I’m glad (and sorry) I gave you the feels. T____T But tis necessary for a book like this. And the topic is so… I still can’t believe I never knew about it before reading this book. It’s just mind-boggling.

      PS – Didya read this one yet? (Are you going to?) I don’t actually want to tear your heart out and trample it, but you should so right-this-second read this book.

      Like

LEAVE A REPLY

