Books ‘N Tunes #4: Mind The Gap

Look’s like it’s time for another installment of my Books ‘N Tunes Reading Challenge! 😉

I’ve only got one song for this book, but honestly? It’s not like it should be all that surprising.

Mind the Gap, Volume 1: Intimate Strangers
by Jim McCann; Rodin Esquejo & Sonia Oback (Illustrators)

Publisher: Image Comics
Publication Date: October 2012
Format: ARC, e-copy
Pages: 168
Genre & Themes: Comas, Mystery, Thriller,
Intrigue, Rich Families, Comics & Graphic
Novels, Fiction, Fantasy, Surrealism,
Paranormal, Media Junkie, Whodunit,
Memory Loss, Existential Crisis
Age: OT / Young Adult / New Adult
Reviewer: AMS (amomentsilence)
Source: Provided by NetGalley
Challenges: 2015 Good Reads Reading Challenge (36),
52 Books in 52 WeeksYou Read How Many Books?,
Read A Million PagesEthereal 2015Books N Tunes,
105 Reading Challenge (Category: 1, 2, 4, 10),
2015 Graphic Novel and Comic Reading Challenge,
2015 New To You Reading Challenge (New Series &
Author To Me), NetGalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge,
2015 LGBT Reading Challenge (GN/OTHER)

SUMMARY

(synopsis from Goodreads)

Elle Peterssen is young, wealthy, and beautiful – and there is a reason someone tried to kill her. Only, Elle doesn’t remember any of this.

Mind the Gap, the new series by the Eisner Award-winning writer JIM McCANN (Return of the Dapper Men), is a mystery with a paranormal twist.

Elle, in a spirit form detached from her comatose body, must not only unravel the mystery of her attacker’s identity and motive but her entire life as well.

Who can she trust, in both this word and in the gap she exists in that lies between life and death? Filled with twists and turns, Elle’s life isn’t the only one turned upside down by the attack on her life.

Deceit, secrets, and hidden agendas are everywhere in a story where everyone is a suspect, and no one is innocent.

*Collects Mind the Gap #1-5.


REVIEW

This one gets 4.5 Stars.

Ho boy! I was NOT expecting to like this one as much as I did. I honestly thought this was going to be another scenario of me falling for the cover and rolling my eyes at the contents, but asdfghjkl;lkjhgf I’m SO glad that wasn’t the case. 😄 What really surprised me was the complex story and phenomenal mystery element that ran through the story from start to finish. An excellent combination of gorgeous artwork and captivating storytelling that brought to life the characters and world of Mind The Gap.

So far, I don’t really have a character I don’t like. I mean, even the nasty characters are being perfectly spot-on to their role as antagonists. I will admit that I might absolutely be in love with Jo, if for no other reason then for what she did [HIGHLIGHT FOR SPOILER]on page 90, 91, and 92 with the freakin’ candles and altars and proclaiming she’ll chant and dance naked if it’ll help get her friend back. [/HIGHLIGHT] Power to you, girl! You’re totally rockin’ my world. That’s a real friend for ya.
anigif_enhanced-10958-1407468769-6

I’m really curious as to where this story will go next. The classic whodunit routine is peppered with some newer elements but sticks closely to the typical mystery theme, with a bit of X-Files type drama to go along with it. I’m liking where it’s going, but only so long as it keeps me interested. Some things were predictable (at least to me) so I’ve got a feeling that I might have some idea as to what will go down in the next installment. Nonetheless, it’s definitely worth waiting to find out.

One thing that kinda bugged me were all of the pop culture references and shameless advertising for actors, products, tourism, and media references. I get this is comics, and that sorta thing happens constantly, but it was a little weird.

Not to mention the heavy song references at the beginning might have been a bit overdone. I got no problem with music in mah books (I’m a music junkie to the extreme so this can never displease me), but I would really appreciate it having some purpose besides its blatant advertisement and promotional appeal. Like if the songs actually related back to anything of significance to Elle’s life or something. ANYTHING.

I mean, the references to some songs will only make sense if people know the music (or in some cases, the music video aka cue random mention of bee girl from some random music video. WTF). Otherwise it sort of jars you out of the story and the continuity of whatever is going on. I had a few moments like that, and I’m probably the biggest music whore you’ll ever meet. If it has a beat, I probably know it or I soon as heck will! And yet, I still had a problem with the odd placement of some of the music inserts.

But all those things aside, I really enjoyed seeing all the diversity in this comic. POC, lesbians (one a DOCTOR and the other a COP! AND MARRIED NO LESS!!! *does a little happydance jig*), a biracial family, social class deconstructs… NON-IRRITATING MAIN AND SUPPORTING FEMALE CHARACTERS!

Deception and mayhem! Questions upon questions!

And all the behind-the-scenes sleuthing from so many angles! *siiiiiiiiiiigh* That’s the good life. I’m happy with the turn-out.

GIMME THE NEXT VOLUME NOW.

651940

As to any warnings I would give…

None that I can think of. General trippy-ness, but that’s about it.

Would I recommend?

Oh yeah! Definitely! This one’s a keeper! I’ll be purchasing a copy once it comes out myself!


TUNE

Orgy – Fiction (Dreams In Digital)


Reason for choosing these songs

Fiction (Dreams In Digital) by Orgy is a song I feel captures the entire essence of the book (and probably the whole series). I especially think the first verse pertains so closely to the entire situation at hand that it’s like the song was made for this book (or more likely… the book was made from the song). Either way, Elle is lost and living in a world of her imagination, trying to figure out what’s happening and where her place in all this is. Those in the “waking world” are just as lost as to what’s actually happened. And all the while there’s someone out there hunting her, toying with her, trying… to finish the job. The control over her life is gone, but she’s still fighting, still trying to find her way back to the waking world and the ones she loves.

Also, the whole sound of this song seems to work for me. The minute I started reading this graphic novel, this song just started floating through my mind. It just works no matter which way I look at it.


LYRICS

When You’re Gone
for she’s lost in coma where it’s beautiful
intoxicated from the deep sleep, deep sleep
do you wonder what it’s like
living in a permanent imagination?
sleeping to escape reality, but you like it like that

guilty by design
she’s nothing more then fiction.
she dreams in digital,
cause it’s better then nothing.
now that control is gone,
it seems unreal,
she’s dreaming in digital.
cause it’s better then nothing.
now that control is gone,
it seems unreal,
she’s dreaming in digital.
she dreams in digital.

and your pixel army can’t save you now
my finger’s on the kill switch
i remember i used to compose your dreams
control your dreams
and don’t be afraid to expose yourself
before i shut you down
you made some changes since the virus caught you sleeping

guilty by design
she’s nothing more then fiction.
she dreams in digital,
cause it’s better then nothing.
now that control is gone,
it seems unreal,
she’s dreaming in digital.
cause it’s better then nothing.
now that control is gone,
it seems unreal,
she’s dreaming in digital.
she dreams in digital.

she’s guilty by design!

cause it’s better then nothing.
now that control is gone,
it seems unreal,
she’s dreaming in digital.

she’s nothing more than fiction!

cause it’s better then nothing.
now that control is gone,
it seems unreal,
she’s dreaming in digital.

(Dreams in digital)

Tagged: , , , , , ,

LEAVE A REPLY

