[Book Review] Resounding Truth by Kate Thomas

Resounding Truth

(Book 2.5 of The Resounding series)

Kate Thomas

What rating would you give it?
3.5 of 5 Stars

Is anything special going on for this book right now?

Yes, but of course! There’s a book tour and book giveaway going on until the 3rd, so go check them both out here.

Thoughts and review of the book?

Oho~ Well, well, well! This wasn’t half bad a read! I’m not sure if I’d ever get into this series (as in, actually want to pick up any more books and read them), but this book was a great introduction to the Resounding series, its characters, and world.

The ending kind of irked me a bit, but I have to remember it is a series and there needs to be some kind of hook to get you to want to read the next book. Sadly, I won’t be doing so, but it’s still a good hook regardless.

I think there’s a lot to work with here, in terms of story and plot, conflict, and all that… so I believe any follow-up books (and prior ones too) would be great reads. The thing for me, is that… well… I’m not really into books with plots and stories based on the supposed “age old war between the Vamps and the Weres” sorta thing. It’s fine. I have no problem with it, but I’m just really tired of reading it unless it’s taking a different spin on things: putting it into another genre (space vampires! or demigod weres! or… or… something. I dunno. It just can’t be the same old thing again and again), MAYBE making them allies instead of enemies (like kinda how this story is going by having some other more traditional vamps or weres or just simply humans in general not liking it and so it’s becomes like a “the enemy of my enemy is my friend” situation going on), or SOMETHING. Otherwise, I just don’t read these Vamps vs Weres stories.

Nonetheless, the story itself was wonderfully written. Kate Thomas’ style of writing is easy to follow, enjoyable, descriptive (but not too much), engaging, and witty at times. The characters, plot, and transition between scenes were well executed, and I really didn’t have any problems with anything. (Even the overdone Vampire vs. Werewolf plot-device was handled well.)

I think my favourite characters were definitely Caleb (because he was so comfortable in his own skin — a phenomenal Alpha with a kind and gentle spirit, but all the dominant, sexy attitude to make everyone around him respect him, be enthralled by him, but also want to be around him); Dru (because she was likewise very comfortable in her own skin. No silly, “But what do I do?! OH THE AGONY!” drama going on… just a cool, confident, smart, brave woman going on there); and — weirdly enough — Seth. I think it was his… idiotic innocence that got me. (And also the fact that I SWEAR TO GOD it seemed like he had the ultimate crush on his older brother. I was highly amused with the little things that came out of his mouth sometimes.) He was just so trusting, but not because he was naive or foolish… just very trusting of a brother who obviously does care for him, but sadly doesn’t actually respect him enough to not be going behind his back and messing with his mate. I do kinda wish Seth could have had the chance to maybe step up and been someone more worthy of an Alpha title, but at the same time, I’m glad he stayed true to himself. I mean, not everyone can be the Alpha… Whoever. And that’s cool too! That’s why Seth, for whatever reason, still made the favourite character list! 😉

All in all, a good, solid read! 🙂

**This complimentary copy was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.**

Any warnings you wish to make for your readers?

None in particular. There’s one heck of an aggressive Alpha in there, who’s a bit of an ass and does asinine things, but yeah. That’s about it. xD

Does it count towards any reading challenges?

Well I should think so! xD

Would you recommend this book?

Although I probably won’t be reading more of the series, I would definitely recommend it to anyone who loves a good romance, Werewolves vs Vampires plot/stories, ABO dynamics, Novellas, Paranormal Series, and the like. It’s a GOOD READ, so definitely worth recommending.

tumblr_inline_mq5wnylSae1qz4rgp

Reviewed by AMS (amomentsilence)

Publisher: Good Tales Book Tours
Publication Date: March 2015
Format: RvC, ebook
Pages: 92
Genre / Themes: Romance, Shifters, Vampires,
Werewolves, Paranormal, Interspecies
relations (or lack thereof), Vamps vs Weres,
D/s, ABO dynamics, Tribal Living, Aggressive /
Submissive Males, Dominant Females, Strong
Female Lead Character
Age: Adult
Reviewer: AMS (amomentsilence)
Source: Provided by GTBT
Challenge2015 Good Reads Reading Challenge (18),
52 Books in 52 WeeksYou Read How Many Books?,
Read A Million Pages105 Reading Challenge,
2015 New To You Reading Challenge

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “[Book Review] Resounding Truth by Kate Thomas

  1. lstarkey002 April 2, 2015 at 12:22 PM Reply

    Haha.. Oh I love your reviews Jaay.

    Thank you so much for reading this and reviewing it. Great job. I appreciate you. 🙂

    Laurie (aka Kate)

    Liked by 1 person

LEAVE A REPLY

