Author Hunter Murphy on Gay Southern Characters

Imogene In New Orleans by Hunter Murphy (Guest Post)

He’s a very down to earth kinda guy. I like him. 😉

Hannah Reads Books

Three weeks ago, I reviewed the new book Imogene in New Orleans by Hunter Murphy — a cozy mystery about Jackson Miller, his partner Billy, and Billy’s mother Imogene. I don’t see a lot of Southern fiction with gay characters, let alone central characters in relationships, so I was more than thrilled when Hunter agreed to write a guest post for me on that very topic! Enjoy, and as always, let us know what you think in the comments!

Imogene in New Orleans Hunter Murphy

I had the good fortune of meeting Hannah at a recent author talk and she invited me to write a post.

She suggested a few possible topics, and I settled on the topic of writing gay characters in the South. I think part of what happened to Tennessee Williams and Truman Capote is they had to hide so much growing up in the first half of the 20th Century. These days…

View original post 776 more words

LEAVE A REPLY

