Books ‘N Tunes #3: Silver Diamond (v.20)

Welcome back to another installment of my Books ‘N Tunes Reading Challenge!

This week I’ve got another two song for one book. Although, this time it’s more like one song for the book itself, and the other song for the entire series. 🙂

Silver Diamond #20: Before The Storm
by Sugiura Shiho

Publisher: Tosuisha
Publication Date: May 2010
Format: electronic, scans
Pages: est. 150+
Genre: M/M Romance, War, Love, Twins,
Trust, Science Fiction, Fantasy, Isolation
Issues, Psi Abilities, Alternative Worlds,
Telekinetic Powers, Survivors, Betrayal,
Telepathy, Puppets, Dying World, Plants,
Nature, Environment, Genetically Engineered
People & Creatures, Family, Friendship,
Manga, Shounen Ai, Slashy, Lost Memories
Age: OT / Young Adult
Reviewer: AMS (amomentsilence)
Source: Scanlations by Amato Empire
Challenges: 2015 Good Reads Reading Challenge (30),
52 Books in 52 WeeksYou Read How Many Books?,
2015 LGBT Reading Challenge (OTHER/SA),
Read A Million PagesEthereal 2015Books N Tunes,
105 Reading Challenge (Category: 2, 4, 8, 9),
The Re-Read Reading Challenge
2015 Graphic Novel and Comic Reading Challenge
,
2015 Monthly Motifs & Keyword Reading Challenge
(Motif: SEPT; Furry Friends = Ko, Kuro, the
stone birds & many others
 / Keyword: SEPT;
Color 
= Silver),

SUMMARY

(synopsis taken from Publisher)

The Ayame Prince speeding up the destruction versus Hoshiminokoto guiding the people versus Rakan and the rest making their way to the final steps to the capital!! Where will the fight to seize their fates lead to?! The 4 page extras are a must-see ☆ They all join in a pillow fight!!


REVIEW

This review can also be found on GoodReads

This one gets 5 Stars.

I think every single book in this series gets 5 stars. I can’t not give this book 5 stars because… though it has moments of slow, filler pages at times… everything eventually leads back to the complex and rich plot of this strange alternate world.

I still have absolutely NO idea what the heck is going on with Hoshiminokoto or his plans with this world, Chigusa, Rakan, the Ayame Prince, and Kinrei… but I feel like we’re definitely heading towards an epic reveal soon! I think it might happen in the next book or the one right after, depending on how long it actually takes them to get to the Capitol.

Also, I still think the guy’s a creep and needs to seriously stay the fuck away from Chigusa. o___o I’m absolutely with Rakan and the rest of the Guard on this one! Everyone needs to make a protective shield around him and just keep all the haters away.

Haters_to_the_left_zps1e27c141

Oh yeah. And I’m just going putting this out there:

This book had a LOT of feels. Mostly between Kinrei and The Ayame Prince, and Rakan and Chigusa.

And Narushige and his sister…..
sdfghjkl;kjhgfhjdaADFHSKJLDANALKFNALK
SO. MANY. FEEEEELS.
More than just a little excited to find out what happens next!

As to any warnings I would give…

Hmm… not particularly now that I think about it. 🙂

Would I recommend?

So-Do-You-Want-More-Ryan-Gosling_zps22d4af1c


TUNES

Mary Elizabeth McGlynn – When You’re Gone

Cardigans – Erase & Rewind


Reason for choosing these songs

When You’re Gone by Mary Elizabeth McGlynn is a song I feel works for two relationships: Rakan & Chigusa, as well as The Ayame Prince & Kinrei. I feel like the lyrics really match what’s going on right now in book 20, where so much is being revealed, including how these characters feel for one another. Whether you want to read into it as slashable or not, is entirely up to you. (I certainly do, but that’s just me. :P)

My other song choice is Erase & Rewind by Cardigans which I feel better suits the whole series. I don’t want to give anything away as these are HUGE spoilers for the entire series, but as the series progresses… pretty much every single character finds out that none of them are who they thought they were, and it just goes to show that nothing is what it seems. I feel this song resonates strongest with 3 different themes:

  1. The first is the running theme of people being “puppets” to others, being used either knowingly or otherwise…
  2. The second is the theme of altering memories, losing one’s memories, or reinventing oneself.
  3. And the final is the theme of loneliness, being outcast, or unwanted.

LYRICS

When You’re Gone
Did I wait too long?
Moments gone and now wasted
Coming back to home
It feels wrong, changes haunt me
Ends I came before
Leave me lost, confused, searching
Everything I own
Takes me back nowhere

Objects in my room
They might be telling me something soon
Still you ask me how I feel
I feel lost – that’s how I feel

I know, I know
There’s something I’ve forgotten
Like a time, a place
A shattered memory
For me it’s more
Than I can seem to handle
It’s the pain, my mind
Is writing on the wall
The truth, you lied
You said it can convince you to
Give up, this place
Will never set me free
Enough, I know
I really did it this time
It’s a sign, this place
Is somewhere I should be

Taking a piece of my heart
When you’re gone

Are my eyes too blind
To find illusions from deep inside, growing?
What I lost to find
And what I find brings me here

I know, I know
There’s something I’ve forgotten
Like a time, a place
A shattered memory
For me it’s more
Than I can seem to handle
It’s the pain, my mind
Is writing on the wall
The truth, you lied
You said it can convince you to
Give up, this place
Will never set me free
Enough, I know
I really did it this time
It’s a sign, this place
Is somewhere I should be

Taking a piece of my heart
That’s how it always starts
When you’re gone

 

Erase & Rewind
Hey, what did you hear me say
you know the difference it makes
what did you hear me say

Yes, I said it’s fine before
I don’t think so no more
I said it’s fine before
I’ve changed my mind
I take it back

Erase and rewind
’cause I’ve been changing my mind
I’ve changed my mind

So where did you see me go
it’s not the right way, you know
where did you see me go
No, it’s not that I don’t know
I just don’t want it to grow
It’s not that I don’t know
I’ve changed my mind
I take it back

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Books ‘N Tunes #3: Silver Diamond (v.20)

  1. Sophia Rose March 7, 2015 at 1:40 PM Reply

    I have only read one Yaio book and it was an antho of short stories not a series like this one. It was a fun experience (took forever to get the whole right to left thing with the pages) and I loved the artwork- such expression and depiction of action. I don’t think I’m cut out for serials b/c I don’t have enough patience. Glad these are good ones!

    Like

    • amomentsilence March 9, 2015 at 10:10 PM Reply

      Well, I know some people don’t like series or serials, but they can be a great investment of time. XD Particularly when there is great art (if it’s a graphic novel, comic, or manga/manhwa/manhua), great storyline arcs & plots, and/or great characters to follow and root for (or against 😛 ).

      I’ve long since been a fan of series. In fact, the longer the better! I don’t really like things to end.

      Like

  2. […] Silver Diamond v.20 by Sugiura Shiho  [Review] […]

    Like

  3. […] Lukos Heat by Megan Derr – 3 or 3.5/5 Stars Re-creation by Dusk Peterson – 4.5/5 Stars Silver Diamond (v.20) by Sugiura Shiho – 5/5 […]

    Like

LEAVE A REPLY

