[Book Review] When Ryan Came Back

21874749When Ryan Came Back

Devon McCormack

What rating would you give it?
3/3.5 of 5 Stars

Give us a summary.

(Taken from Goodreads)
Steven’s life changes forever the day he discovers his childhood friend and lifelong crush, Ryan Walters, standing in his bedroom. The problem? Ryan Walters committed suicide just days earlier.

Ryan tells Steven that he didn’t kill himself. He believes he was murdered and that his death is linked to an article he was working on for the school paper. Steven sets out to solve the mystery, but as the story unfolds, so does Ryan’s secret life of sex with guys and depression. Steven realizes suicide is more plausible than Ryan’s conspiracy theory, but he struggles to convince Ryan of the real cause of his death. And despite revelations of his friend’s closeted life, he must face the truth that Ryan doesn’t—and never will—love him.

What did you think of the book?

My actual rating is around a 3, maybe 3.5 stars because it was okay, even if it wasn’t the greatest. I doubt I’ll ever forget it, but I probably won’t be reading it again anytime soon.

Overall, this book was alright. A sort of typical angsty teen-mystery thing with a “gay twist,” if that’s what you want to call it. I doubt I’d recommend it to anyone, unless they were really, REALLY curious. The ridiculously slow parts in the middle and beginning as well as that abrupt and rushed ending really didn’t help it any, so frankly I’m not that impressed.

However, it wasn’t a bad book. The writing was decent enough, and the story – though not particularly original – was interesting enough as well. I think I probably wanted more than just a teen melodrama, but as a YA book, I suppose it’s to be expected. (I haven’t really read too many YA books that don’t seem to focus on that, as though it’s the only thing to being a teenager. But whatever. Moving right along.) I was VERY happy with the outcome of the ending though – even if it was abrupt. I sort of wished we had gotten the chance to see more of that instead of all the other seemingly pointless run-around.

Any warnings you wish to make for your readers?

Not particu—WELL. I’d only say, be prepared for some really, really pointless filler action. You will read through areas that are solely there to fill pages. Mark my words. :/

Does it count towards any reading challenges?

Yup! For a whole bunch~ xD

Would you recommend this book?

Ehhh….

maybe

Reviewed by AMS (amomentsilence)

Publisher: Harmony Ink Press
Publication Date: October 2014
Format: e-ARC
Pages: 230
Genre & Themes: Love, Love Beyond The Grave,
M/M Romance, QUILTBAG / LGBTQUI,
Paranormal, Ghosts & Spirits, Suicide, Murder,
Mystery, YA, Contemporary, Crazy Adults and
Equally Crazy Teens, Jealousy, Young/Old
Relationship & Sex, Mention of Underage Sex,
Mental Health Issues, High School Politics
Age: Young Adult (YA)
Reviewer: AMS (amomentsilence)
Source: Provide by NetGalley
Challenge2015 Good Reads Reading Challenge (8),
52 Books in 52 WeeksYou Read How Many Books?,
2015 Monthly Motifs & Keyword Reading Challenge,
2015 LGBT Reading Challenge, Read A Million Pages,
105 Reading Challenge2015 NetGalley & Edelweiss
Reading Challenge
Ethereal 2015,
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “[Book Review] When Ryan Came Back

  1. RIEDEL Fascination February 24, 2015 at 5:19 PM Reply

    You can identify why a novel missed being GREAT but give marks for elements that were worthwhile. A jolt of action too near the end to stoke excitement; I get it. Filler pages between the introduction and end, because the author didn’t know how to bring part A to part C; or stuff just didn’t need to be there? All education for my future writing. 🙂

    I appreciate that your review doesn’t spoil but tells me I would skip this. It sounds like it’s an outlet for teen issues, not driven by being a ghost story. An awesome **adult** ghost story, if you’ve seen my reviews or pleas in posts, is what this 42 year-old seeks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • amomentsilence February 24, 2015 at 6:20 PM Reply

      It definitely was. I mean… the mystery-murder aspect was pushed really hard… but it came across as… odd. Not natural and easy-flowing like it should have been. And ghost aspect was just there to make it “different” or add a little “weird” instead of really engaging the reader with the supernatural world.

      I’ll keep a look out for any adult ghost stories that I remember reading that were really good, or any I might come across in the future. 🙂

      Like

      • RIEDEL Fascination February 24, 2015 at 7:59 PM Reply

        Sorry to say, it isn’t merely about finding adult paranormal that is good. It’s hard finding non-YA ghost topics AT ALL!!!! Don’t people over 20 ponder life, the afterlife, sacred places, and special abilities? You’d think we’re likelier to ponder the big picture than people born a few years ago. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        • amomentsilence February 24, 2015 at 8:56 PM Reply

          True words.

          Although, I get the impression that most simply don’t want to think about the possibility. Or perhaps find the thought of it silly and childish, which is why not enough people are publishing material for adults on the subject, y’know?

          Like

          • RIEDEL Fascination February 25, 2015 at 10:25 AM Reply

            I don’t know. We aren’t talking vampires (which I find silly). We’re talking spirits and psychic abilities, which many adults believe in! ‘Cozy mysteries’ don’t do it for me because they tend to be jokey about any paranormal that manages to be printed. Really, I’m quoting a post I already wrote. I actually held a contest last year, for all of my members to just recommend grown-up, non-cozy ghost novels!

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Brandy Robertson February 27, 2015 at 12:57 PM Reply

    Hmmm too bad you didn’t like it, but I guess we can’t like them all can we?! It does sound like really interesting subject matter and I like that one of the characters is gay. I’d like to read more LGBT literature, but perhaps I’ll look for another title rather than this one 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

LEAVE A REPLY

