[Book Review] Creation (The Chronicles of Ara)

don't let the gorgeous cover fool you!Creation

(The Chronicles of Ara, Book 1)

Joel Eisenberg & Steven Hillard

What rating would you give it?
1.5 of 5 Stars

What did you think of the book?

DON’T LET THE GORGEOUS COVER FOOL YOU!

The copy I read was an uncorrected proof provided by Netgalley. Now, I know the ARC was just the prelim and not the finished product. I get that, but… that still doesn’t matter nor mean a thing to me if by the time I am finished reading I’m left this unhappy about the book. If anything, I would tell the publisher/editor/author to send out galleys that are more put-together than what I got, because all this one did was put a very bad impression in my head of what was to come for this book AND the entire series.

Now… here’s me trying to be nice about this.

I didn’t particularly like Creation (which, at the time when I read it was only called The Chronicles of Ara). It was… just too odd. I wish I could follow it better, but I just couldn’t. I think there was more hype to it than was actually translated properly to the page. It seemed scatterbrained at best, and then really interesting but unfocused at others.

It took me a really, REALLY long time to finish this book, not because it was a difficult or long read, but because I just had NO interest in it – and that’s saying something from me. This book should have been a fantastic read, and instead turned out to be full of hot air.

Would you recommend this book?

Ughh, no. Not unless it has a MAJOR overhaul. And I mean, MAJOR. There was just too much going on without any real direction and that left an already complicated story appearing to all the world as disorganized and chaotic. I WANTED to like this story. I HOPED and PRAYED the words on the page would match the gorgeousness of the cover, but… it was not to be.

833707

Reviewed by AMS (amomentsilence)

Publisher: The Zharmae Publishing
Press / Luthando Coeur
Publication Date: November 2014
Format: eBook, ARC
Pages: 454
Genre: Art, Artistic Creation, Fiction,
Speculative Fiction, Conceptualization,
Literary Fiction, Fantasy / Sci Fi (I guess)
Age: Adult
Reviewer: AMS (amomentsilence)
Source: Provided by NetGalley
Challenge: 2014 Good Reads Reading Challenge (100)

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

LEAVE A REPLY

