[Book Review] Krabat

n362331Krabat

Otfried Preussler

What rating would you give it?
3.75 of 5 Stars

What did you think of the book?

Fascinating, although a bit bland at times… Krabat is a story of a boy and the lure of black magic, a coming of age, a classic that will delight and freight generations to come with its complex, dark tale. I wasn’t entirely sure what to make of this book when I picked it up. The premise sounded just like something I would love, but – I confess – haven’t read books like this in a long time. I’m glad I chose this book to rekindle my interest in spooky, chldren’s fairytales/folktales.

Would you recommend this book?

Yeah! It’s a good one for young audiences. I don’t know how much an adult or even young adult audience would like it (as in, if they’re get bored or find it predictable), but I definitely think if I were the age grouping for this book, I’d enjoy reading it!

Reviewed by AMS (amomentsilence)

Publisher: HarperCollins UK, HarperPress/4th
Estate/The Friday Project
Publication Date: 2010
Format: eBook, ARC
Pages: 265
Genre: Children’s Fiction, Sci Fi & Fantasy,
Fairytales, Dark Fantasy, Classics, Fantasy,
Magic (Dark Magic), Horror, Literature
Age: Middle Grade / Teen
Reviewer: AMS (amomentsilence)
Source: Provided by NetGalley
Challenge: 2014 Good Reads Reading Challenge (100)

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

LEAVE A REPLY

