Books ‘N Tunes #1: With Pride

I was debating on how I’d want to chronicle my progress for the Books ‘N Tunes Reading Challenge, and I’ve finally decided on creating a single playlist on 8tracks with all the songs for each and every book I read for this challenge.

Each month, I’ll post one or two entries for the Books ‘N Tunes reading challenge and add to the 8tracks list. (Note: Until I have at least 8 songs on the list, the playlist can’t be published. When I’ve got at least 8 songs, I will update with a direct link to the playlist I’m tentatively calling “Watch My Eyes & Know I Lie.”) I’ll also add a brief review with cover image and basic book details to each entry as well, to complete the post.

So without further adieu, I present the first book and its accompanying song to be added to the list:

19162047

With Pride (Princes of the Blood, #2)
by Megan Derr

Publisher: Less Than Three Press
Publication Date: April 2014
Format: eBook, RvC
Pages: 164
Genre: M/M Romance, War, Love,
QUILTBAG / LGBTQUI, Twins, Family,
Arranged Marriage, Non-Sparkling
Vampires, Fantasy, Magic, Horror,
Blood & Gore
Age: Adult
Reviewer: AMS (amomentsilence)
Source: Provided by publisher
Challenges: 2015 Good Reads Reading Challenge (11),
52 Books in 52 WeeksYou Read How Many Books?,
2015 LGBT Reading Challenge, Read A Million Pages,
105 Reading Challenge, Books N Tunes

SUMMARY

(taken from GoodReads)

When his sister falls ill, Kristof is ordered to assume a duty never meant for him: become the Duke of Stehlmore and marry a notorious Prince of the Blood. It is one of the oldest honors and duties undertaken by his family, but Kristof feels only resentment that he must leave behind all he knows to serve an arrogant half-demon.

His resentment must be set aside, however, when evil is found lurking far too close to the castle—an evil that has many pieces, controlled by someone they cannot find and who always seems one step ahead of them. Someone who seems to think that demons are little more than toys …


REVIEW

Can also be found on GoodReads

This one gets a solid 4 Stars.

I actually liked this one less than the first book, but still REALLY enjoyed it nonetheless. What I’m really loving – writing wise – is how the series is moving along backwards in time. That’s a really neat feature which I don’t see all that often in books I read. It definitely explains away some of the vagueness of the first book, especially in terms of the rest of the Legion, which we don’t really get to know too much about in the first novel. Now, in With Pride, we get to see yet another aspect of the Legion, and I can only suspect we’ll see yet another side in the final(???) installment to the series.

I cannot WAIT.


TUNE

Nao Hiiragi – Requiem


Reason for choosing the song

It’s probably one of the saddest songs on the face of the plane—okay, so that’s not entirely true, but it is pretty frickin’ sad. XD The moment I started reading about Hakon’s backstory (especially about his brother… ughhhhhhhh @______@) I started hearing this song, faintly, in the back of my mind. By the time I was finished reading With Pride, this song was full blown taking over my consciousness and I was humming and singing it under my breath all night long.

I hate it. I hate this book. I hate this song. I hate LIFE.

But damn are they utterly perfect for one another.

tumblr_lbuy11OvnT1qckvp0

Just go ahead then and break my damn heart. Not like I was using it anyway. T___________T


LYRICS
(translated)

I wonder
Will you one day be able to tell me?
Without a doubt in a gentle voice
My soul is a sparkling star
Of drowning tears

A future of nothing but sadness that finally comes
I will sleep through it forever

I wonder,
Will I ever be able to let go of that hand?
I’m certain your gentle smile
Will shake my soul
And I will shed tears glittering like stars

Let me be by your side
Let this moment continues
The sky at dusk
And the dark blue nights
Are both being burned into my heart
As the days we spent together

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Books ‘N Tunes #1: With Pride

  1. […] finally got my hands on the second book, With Pride, and I need a refresher so I could jump right into things. […]

    Like

  2. […] With Pride by Megan Derr (MM/OTHER) […]

    Like

  3. Sophia Rose March 5, 2015 at 11:50 PM Reply

    I loved the first book and haven’t gotten to this one. Your playlist idea is a good one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • amomentsilence March 6, 2015 at 7:14 AM Reply

      I loved the first one too! It was really what got me into this series in the first place. 🙂 I would highly recommend continuing with the series! So much is revealed. You wouldn’t want to miss out! 🙂 If you’d like to read my review/TBBR of Of Last Resort, you can find it here. The last book’s review is coming along shortly~

      Sadly, I might have to scrap that idea of using 8tracks because it’s being difficult. :/ But I *am* still going to make some kind of playlist regardless with all the songs once I’m done with the challenge. 🙂

      Like

  4. […] that only grew and grew with each and every book. As I mentioned before in my review of With Pride, I truly love the aspect of moving backwards in time as you read each novel of this series, how […]

    Like

LEAVE A REPLY

