[Manhwa Review] Roureville (Vol. 3)

f0736a71b83910e2d464aa4b7c56dadaRoureville (Vol. 3)

(Roureville series, #3)

E. Hae

What rating would you give it?
3.5 of 5 Stars

So, what did you think of the book and the series as a whole?

Ugh. This series is weird as fuck.

Granted – I like weird, and I like this book.

But still… WEIRD, man. O____o

To be clear, this is a review of a reread, not a first-time reading. I originally read this book (last one in the series) when it came out in 2008? 2009?, and found it quite… odd. But intriguing, nonetheless! The trilogy (can I call it that??) focuses on a mysterious urban legend about a strange, small town called Roureville and a man who lives there… although “lives” might be the wrong word as he’s supposed to be a ghost! Evan Price, a famous New York Times reporter with a sixth sense and moderate ESP, decides to hunt down the facts behind this legend, while also attempting to evade multiple attempts on his life. (Hey! It’s not like everyone appreciates his “exclusives” on some of the world’s most notorious figures of his day! Of course a guy’s gonna make enemies…)

I won’t spoil anything from the other two books, but basically lots of bad things happen in this final volume, all leading up to the conclusion… which – while not being horrible, wasn’t exactly what I was expecting either.

I don’t know why I had such an urge to read this book, but I did. I think it was because I saw the first two books on my bookshelf, and vaguely remembered what happened in them… but then…couldn’t for the life of me remember a single thing about the final volume! I vaguely remembered there was sex… and someone nearly died… or did die,or maybe it was just a premonition, or—

You get where I’m going with this.

I should have remembered how it ended. It should not have been this hard for me to figure out what happened and when, and who and how. So, I figured it was time for a refresher.

I had to do some searching to find this book to reread again (the English language publishers, NetComics, never published it in print, so scanlations, here I come!). I’ll say this much – it makes more sense reading it again xx years later. I understood it then, even AGREED with it, but… doesn’t mean I really… remembered it, y’know? Almost like Jayce himself, fading away to nothingness… this story did as well. Memorable, but only in the vaguest sense, and then, just… ultimately forgettable.

I can only hope it sticks this time.

Would you recommend this book?

Oh gods, I’m so on the fence about this one. I mean… on the one hand, I do still like it and everything, but on the other, I’m just… blah about it, ya’know? :/

zooey-deschanel-dont-know-gif

 

I think I would recommend it to someone who doesn’t mind books that leave that sort of feeling behind after you’ve finished them. And anyone who likes a good mystery. This book is definitely an utter mystery to me. Even now. (Not sure if I mean this in a good way, either. XD)

Reviewed by AMS (amomentsilence)

Publisher: NetComics
Publication Date: 2008-2009
Format: serial release on publisher’s
website
Pages: unsure / 10 chapters
Genre: Shounen Ai, Manhua, M/M
Romance, QUILTBAG / LGBTQUIA,
Mystery, Suoernatural, Ghosts, ESP,
Romance
Age: Young Adult (I guess?)
Reviewer: AMS (amomentsilence)
Source: Bought chapter per chapter since a print
copy was never published in English (to my knowledge…)
& downloaded
Challenge: 2014 Good Reads Reading Challenge (100)

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

LEAVE A REPLY

