[Book Review] Once Upon A Time: A Short History of Fairy Tale

onceUponTimeOnce Upon A Time: A Short History of Fairy Tale

Marina Warner

What rating would you give it?
3/3.5 of 5 Stars

What did you think of the book?

An “okay” read. It wasn’t as comprehensive as I thought it would be, or as visually engaging, but it was still a decent read. I would recommend a good book designer for the interior layout though. It was just so bland that it made turning each page a bit monotonous.

When I first saw the title, I knew I’d want to at least pick it up, see what it was about, give it a try. I love reference material on all things mythological, fairytale, folklore, ancient history, cultures and customs, and the like. I was hoping to add another valuable resource to my collection but… as it would turn out, seems like this one fell short of the mark. Because the book calls itself a history, I was expecting insight into the history of fairytales of ALL KINDS, not just focusing on Western ones (and mostly modern Western fairytales and Western retellings of other cultural tales, at that). Personally, I don’t even think this book should be classified as a “history,” but more personal commentary and rhetoric. MAYBE even as literary criticism, but not history.

Would you recommend this book?

Likely to recommend, nonetheless. Although it was a bit of a long read without much to break up the flow (which at times made it feel a bit tedious to read). I doubt I would ever buy this though, for myself or otherwise.

Reviewed by AMS (amomentsilence)

Publisher: Oxford University Press
Publication Date: December 2014
Format: eBook, ARC
Pages: 226
Genre: Nonfiction, Fairytales, Textbook,
Informative, Reference
Age: …unsure, but I would say “Adult”
Reviewer: AMS (amomentsilence)
Source: Provided by NetGalley
Challenge: 2014 Good Reads Reading Challenge (100)

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

LEAVE A REPLY

