[Book Review/TBBR] Kamen (Vol. 1)

81W48sIDyrLKamen (Vol. 1)

(Kamen series, #1)

Gunya Mihara

What rating would you give it?
2 of 5 Stars

What did you think of the book?

This… was really not that well done. I wish I could have liked this better, but everything was a bit off. Random ass names, weird, disjointed places, inconsistent art style… even the sequencing of panels was just missing the mark for me.

When the art style was the same, it was actually ok for me. A little jerky at times with some transition problems, but otherwise decent. The story also seems decent enough as well. There were a few pages that were actually done really well (ie: pg.19), however the overall package was so fatally flawed that nothing could help it out.

There were some concepts that were interesting enough that I’ll be picking up the next volume to see if anything improves. But the series for me seems to be lacking in so many ways. Sorry. :/

List some of the pros & cons of the book:

Cons:

  • Oh god though – What is with these names? Ryouga? SIMBA? Kagura? Ludoke? Dazam? It’s like the author/artist has no idea what they’re doing and just slapping on names left and right with no conscious direction to why or who or what. Ughhh… @______@
    • More weird-ass names: ZORAIDEN?! xD Oh god… These names, man…
  • Also HOW exactly is this supposed to be taking place in (and I quote the synopsis) “ancient Japan”? Even a fictional one? This makes NO SENSE WHATSOEVER. I’d be ten thousand times happier if you simply said it was somewhere or someplace else that just happens to have Japanese influence or something, than you trying to make me believe all this weird @#$%$ is Japan. Puh-leeze.
  • Tons of errors with the artistry and drawings themselves. Certainly things just don’t add up or even make sense at all. I’m looking at some of the panels and have NO idea what’s going on at all.
  • I also don’t like the art style that much. It’s not even because of hard edges or anything like that. It’s just… inconsistent, so I can’t even try to like it… :/
  • The transitions in this book are really, REALLY weird…
  • It’s like the conversations AND panels don’t know how to easily flow into one another. Nothing really transitions well.
  • The dialogue is also really weak and stilted. It’s so BAD. XD;; Like, as if, it was translated poorly by someone who didn’t care to make things seem natural. It could also simply be the original dialogue wasn’t very strong in the first place so there was nothing for the translator to work with. :/ If THAT’S the case, then even worse. -___-;;;
  • The writing also has a bunch of grammatical errors, too, which is at least an easier fix.

Pros:

  • ….I’m supposed to have pros?? :/ :/ :/
  • The plot is at least salvageable. They’re just not doing anything with it yet. I hope it gets better, because if not then… >___>;;;

As I said before, I really, really wished I had liked this more, but… well… I haven’t given up on it quite yet. Here’s to hoping the second book will be better.

Would you recommend this book?

I doubt I would ever recommend this to anyone. Except as maybe to show them how NOT to manga.

barney-stinson-how-I-met-your-mother-disapoint-eccbc87e4b5ce2fe28308fd9f2a7baf3-124

Reviewed by AMS (amomentsilence)

Publisher: Gen Manga Entertainment
Publication Date: September 2014
Format: eBook, ARC
Pages: 225
Genre: Manga, Indie, Medieval
Fantasy, Graphic Novel, Samurai,
Action/Adventure,
Age: Teen – Young Adult
Reviewer: AMS (amomentsilence)
Source: Provided by NetGalley
Challenge: 2014 Good Reads Reading Challenge (100)

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

LEAVE A REPLY

