[Book Review] Android Angels

Android-AngelsAndroid Angels

Kosuke Kabaya

What rating would you give it?
3 of 5 Stars

What did you think of the book?

I generally review graphic novels and manga using this system: Five stars for books I couldn’t put down and read from start to finish in one sitting. Four stars for excellent books that I highly recommend and will continue reading myself. Three stars for books I liked and may recommend. Two stars and below for any books I would not recommend, had too much wrong with them, or simply didn’t catch my attention or aesthetic tastes.

This one was… interesting. It began a bit amateurishly, which was a little disheartening, but thankfully I kept reading all the way through and the art and story-telling got better. A LOT better. Each oneshot short flowed worked well individually, although they didn’t particularly flow well from one to the other (which I believe WAS the point, as characters overlap and stories follow years or months from the preceding tale). I enjoyed it well enough, but there were definitely some wonky moments which left me a little confused or sighing over the artistry (or lack thereof).

Overall, I would still recommend it, especially to anyone who love android-human relations, and stories about the impact of artificial lifeforms in daily life!

Would you recommend this book?

maybe

Ehh, maybe. We’ll see.

Reviewed by AMS (amomentsilence)

Publisher: Gen Manga Entertainment
Publication Date: May 2014
Format: eBook, ARC
Pages: 158
Genre: Manga, Science Fiction, Androids,
Robots, Futuristic World, Slave-Servant
Market/Industry, Speculative Fiction
Age: Young Adult – Adult
Reviewer: AMS (amomentsilence)
Source: Provided by NetGalley
Challenge: 2014 Good Reads Reading Challenge (100)

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

LEAVE A REPLY

