[Book Review] Mr. Rumpel and Mr. Grimm

22884653Mr. Rumpel and Mr. Grimm

Echo Ishii

What rating would you give it?
3 of 5 Stars

What did you think of the book?

This book sort of missed the mark for me. :/ It was a good read, and I may even pick it up again to read, but overall… there was a serious lack of backstory and character development. Actually… a lack of a LOT of development – both character, world-based, and story – going on. I wish I could say exactly what it was. Some aspects of the story really worked for me, but others sort of left me confused, or at least a bit irritated because they weren’t properly executed in the story. I wanted to know more about what happened in this world, also what sort of restrictions were really applied to the magic working of certain individuals. I needed more believable side characters (like the sister, and especially the brother who gets mentioned, but really hasn’t a THING to do with anything in the story, so why was he even “there” and yet not?). Ughh… and so many other things too. I had high hopes for this one and it sort of flopped.

I give this one a 3 out of 5 because it wasn’t horrible or anything. In fact, it was pretty darn good! It just needed some more planning and thought to the world-building and character development, I think.

If asked, “Would you buy this book for yourself or a friend?” I wouldn’t really know what to say, because… well that’s how I feel about it. I’m really on the fence. I don’t think I would buy it as it is now, but if the author were to fix some things, maybe come out with a remake/corrected reprint or something like that which fixed and flushed out characters more, then yeah. I think I would buy that. 🙂

Would you recommend this book?

Dunno-gif

Reviewed by AMS (amomentsilence)

Publisher: Less Than Three Press
Publication Date: February 2014
Format: eBook, ARC
Pages: 235
Genre: Medieval Fantasy, Paranormal,
M/M Romance, Magic, QUILTBAG /
LGBTQUIA, Shapeshfters, Dragon, Demons
Age: Adult
Reviewer: AMS (amomentsilence)
Source: Provided by NetGalley
Challenge: 2014 Good Reads Reading Challenge (100)

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

LEAVE A REPLY

