[Book Review] An Uncommon Whore (Book 1)

7644545An Uncommon Whore

(An Uncommon Whore, Book 1)

Belinda McBride

What rating would you give it?
3.75 (maybe 4) of 5 Stars

What did you think of the book?

“A whore is a whore is a whore, unless he’s something else completely. I guess I must be an uncommon whore.” – Helios Dayspring

This is about as good as I expected it to be. hurhur… >:3 Was certainly a fun ride. Not perfect, but still pretty darned good if ya ask me. I’ve been meaning to read this one for so long and now that I finally have, I’m glad I waited. I think if I had read it when it first came out I wouldn’t have been able to appreciate it on a more leisurely note as I was able to this time. The characters were wonderfully brought to life through their contrasting personalities and the alarming situation they find themselves in.

My biggest issue with this book (and probably the follow-up book(s?)) is how the books drags a bit without actually… giving us anything to work with plot-wise. There’s this portion in the middle where things are happening, but it’s not actually moving the plot forward or… well, moving ANYTHING forward. But things ARE happening, and you keep turning pages expecting *something* to happen or blow up in their faces, or… SOMETHING… and it doesn’t. You get to the end of this section and… you feel like there was no point to the last 20 pages read. I fear that sort of scenario might happen in the following book, which seems to me, like a complete waste of time and unnecessary filler.

Besides that though, the backstory and history of their world is strong enough, I think, to carry over in a very space-soap-y way into the next book (something which is *definitely* going to occur, from the little we’ve seen of the ending to this book). I most enjoyed Helios and Griffin’s steamy relationship, especially the obvious potential and hints to the ‘switch’ nature and balancing dynamism of their rekindling love. There’s a lot of work that needs to happen there, but it looks like they could come out with a stronger bond if they can only learn to wrestle down their prideful natures.

Would you recommend this book?

I’m on the fence about this one. I might suggest it if someone asked specifically for a “M/M space opera that doesn’t completely suck“. But only if they asked me exactly like that. XD

Reviewed by AMS (amomentsilence)

Publisher: Loose ID
Publication Date: January 2010
Format: eBook, ARC
Pages: 122
Genre: LGBT Science Fiction/Space
Opera, M/M Romance, QUILTBAG / LGBTQUIA
Age: Adult
Reviewer: AMS (amomentsilence)
Source: Provided by NetGalley
Challenge: 2014 Good Reads Reading Challenge (100)

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

LEAVE A REPLY

