The King of Forever, Ensnared, I Bring The Fire, and more! Books I Cannot Wait To Get My Hands On…

Just because I haven’t been feeling well, doesn’t mean my insatiable love of books has gone anywhere. XD Recently I’ve been reminded of just how many books I’m currently looking forward to getting once they’re released and/or once I have the money to get them with. 8DD

The King of Forever (Scarlet and the Wolf, Book #4)

TKOFmedium - king of forever

Publication Date: UNKNOWN

Due to health issues, the author Kirby Crow has been unable to get this book published by the date she intended (October-something, I believe it was…) As such, I’m still waiting (impatiently homgzzz) for the glorious day when I hear I can jump back into this wonderful world and find out what has happened to Scarlet, Liall, and the Rshan kingdom.

Description:

Liall has swept his immediate enemies away and claimed a throne he never wanted. Now he seeks only a little peace with his beloved Scarlet, but the realm is far from pacified. Though there are no other claimants to the throne, many oppose the presence of a Hilurin consort in the palace, and the powerful noble families of Rshan clamor for a legitimate royal heir. News of war brewing with the wild Ava Thule tribesmen brings a revered Ancient to the court: Uulan.
While the jaded court spins rumors of a royal marriage, Uulan reveals a terrible vision to Liall and strikes a forbidden pact with him to save Scarlet’s life.War looms, and as Liall prepares to strike at the Ava Thule, old alliances crumble, friendship turns to deadly betrayal, and Liall must ultimately decide where his loyalties are: with his own people, or with Scarlet, whose Hilurin blood holds the key to the fate of Rshan.

Ensnared (Splintered, Book #3)

Ensnared final cover with title

Available January 6, 2015 from Amulet Books, Amazon, and other retailers.

Desperately waiting for the next, and I believe final, installment of the Splintered series by A.G. Howard. There’s a virtual book tour going on right now, which you all can hear more about on her blog.

Description:

After surviving a disastrous battle at prom, Alyssa has embraced her madness and gained perspective. She’s determined to rescue her two worlds and the people and netherlings she loves. Even if it means challenging Queen Red to a final battle of wills and wiles . . . and even if the only way to Wonderland, now that the rabbit hole is closed, is through the looking-glass world–a parallel dimension filled with mutated and violent netherling outcasts. In the final installment of the wildly popular Splintered trilogy, Alyssa and her dad journey into the heart of magic and mayhem in search of her mom and to set right all that’s gone wrong. Together with Jeb and Morpheus, they must salvage Wonderland from the decay and destruction that has ensnared it. But if they succeed and come out alive, can everyone truly have their happily ever after?

I Bring The Fire series

tumblr_nfed53M3IY1rc52bro1_500

Available NOW at Amazon and Smashwords

I’ve already read books 1 and 2, and began 3 (preview download only) a couple days ago. I cannot get enough of this series. xD It’s… REALLY well done. Mythology abounds… The modern world collides with tales of fiction. Norse legend and reality meet in a head-to-head battle of wit, magic, and… dinosaurs? Oh yes. And did I mention the best part? Loki. The Trickster and Deity. WRITTEN AS HE SHOULD ALWAYS BE PORTRAYED. As an AMBIGUOUS CHARACTER. Not evil. Not good, either. Just… Loki. It’s fantastic. I’m singing praises for this book everywhere. It’s not 100% accurate to myth, Marvel, or anything else for that matter. But that’s besides the point. IT’S FICTION. Moreso, it’s also a revamping and mash-up of various traits, new and old, to create a stunning rendition of the beloved God of Mischief. This is no Tom Hiddleston Loki. Nor is it a Marvel Comic or Movie-verse Loki either. Nor is it purely the Loki of Edda and Icelandic mythos either. The supporting characters and main cast (mostly humans) are fantastic too (I REALLY love Amy. Poor girl. She did not ask for any of this, and yet… she’s so… innocent and easy to manipulate. It’s no wonder Loki loves hanging around her. XD )

Description for I Bring The Fire, Part 1: Wolves

In the middle of America, on Route 44, Amy Lewis has a plan — to get to her grandma’s house in time for dinner. Galaxies away Loki is waking up in a prison cell, strangely without a hangover, and with no idea what he’s done wrong — this time anyway. But he does know Thor is hiding something, Odin is up to something wicked, and there seems to be something he’s forgotten…

In this tale that is equal parts “Another Fine Myth,” “American Gods,” and “Once Upon a Time,” a very nice midwestern girl and a jaded, still very mischievous Loki must join forces to outwit gods, elves, magic sniffing cats, and nosy neighbors. If Loki can remember exactly what he’s forgotten and Amy can convince him not to be too distracted by Earthly gadgets, her boobs, or three day benders, they just might pull it off…

This first volume of “I Bring the Fire” is for anyone who suspects chaos and mischief makers might have their own redeeming qualities, and anyone who just wants a good fantasy romp through modern Earth, ancient Asgard, and beyond!

My only… I guess “warning” to readers — at least those who go around with a stick up their—*is muffled for my profane and entirely justified description of some folk*—…EHEM. As I was saying, the only thing I have to warn anyone about with this story is that… each book is NOT, and I repeat, NOT A COMPLETE BOOK. That’s why each “book” is only called PART 1 and PART 2 and PART 3. Not BOOK 1, BOOK 2, and BOOK 3. What this means is that, if you’re looking for the perfect story arc with a beginning, middle, and end in each of these books… you’re not going to be getting it. Each story has its own… rhythm, you could say. But it does not actually end with a conclusion each time. Think of the entire series (or perhaps the first… 3 books maybe?) as ONE COMPLETE BOOK. Got it?

If that bothers anyone, then… I… I just don’t know what to say. The first part is offered for free btw on both Smashwords and Amazon. Click the links to download it while you still can and read it yourself to see what you think! 🙂 Personally, I love that the “book” is in these parts. Otherwise, it might have been too long a read for me to just pick up and start reading out of the blue. Each part is about 200+ pages, so altogether that’s over 600 pages right there. Normally I would be all over that sort of thing, but since I really didn’t know how this story would portray Loki and just wanted to try it out first, see how the story would go… it was nice that I got to read the first part, get hooked, and then come back for some more without feeling like I dropped a book in the middle if I found I hadn’t liked it much after all. I’m the type of person who doesn’t like leaving books in the middle, even if they’re bad. So it’s important that I muscle through or at least skim through the rest of the pages before I say, “Enough.” The way these “books” are written gives the reader that option without feeling like you’ve given up halfway. You just have to be aware that each one literally flows right into the next.

Songs of the Earth (Sumeria’s Sons, Book #2)

songs of the earth

Expected publication: January 7th 2015 by Less Than Three Press

Next book in a series I started last month. When I began reading it, I believed it to be a completed series, so I was super excited to go straight on to the next book. However, to my profound surprise, I discovered— lo and behold! …that the edition I was reading is a reprint/re-released/newly edited version of the completed OLDER series… which means I’d have to wait for when the next re-released book comes out next year.

NEXT. YEAR.

T________________________T

Talk about some shitty luck, huh?

Description:

Thrust into the role of Prince of the Lycans, Tristan strives to find his footing in a life suddenly rife with secrets and lies—and danger. Betrayed by a Goddess meant to safeguard him, desperate to protect his consort and their growing tribe, he can only prepare for the worst and struggle to hope.

And then the worst comes to kill them…

 No.6 series

no.6 novel covers

I never actually read the No.6 NOVELS. I’ve read the manga, and of course watched the anime, but… somehow it either slipped my mind completely that there even WAS a series of novels that the show was based off of or… something. I don’t know. I’m just really glad I found out regardless. I recently got a hold of some translated copies of the novels and started reading them. And let me tell you — GOOD STUFF. I finished up to the 6th novel and would have started the 7th, but… well.. LIFE AND STUFF HAPPENED, so…. >_________>

I did however read and RE-READ the first six books a thousand and one BILLION times while being stuck in the hospital, as those were the only books I had on my kindle at the time. And let me tell you. IT WAS A BAD IDEA. I don’t know WHY IN HEAVEN’S NAME I thought this would be a good idea in the first place to dredge up all these awful, horrible, sob-worthy feelings over this ridiculously good series by reading it in novel form. This series nearly put me in the hospital WATCHING IT. READING IT WAS NO BETTER AND I WAS ALREADY IN A HOSPITAL BED. *wails and rages and bangs head against wall*

For those of you who never actually watched the anime or read the novels or manga, you’re missing out. Y’know. On your heart tearing to pieces and being ripped into tinier ones with every episode/chapter/page, but y’know. Can’t be helped. Great stories do that to people. That’s what makes them great.

663419

Description:

The story takes place in the “ideal” and perfect city known as “No.6”. Shion, a boy raised in the elite and privileged environment of his home, gives shelter to another boy, who only gives his name as “Rat” on the former’s 12th birthday. What Shion soon discovers is how drastically life will change after meeting with the mysterious Rat, whom he had saved one unforgettable, stormy night.


With any luck, I’ll try to snag some of these to put under the tree for the holidays. Fingers crossed! :3 Who else is looking forward to hauling in a nice book haul this holiday season?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

LEAVE A REPLY

