Dust Jackets – How Do You Take Them?

 

How do you guys feel about dust jackets? Do you leave them on or take them off when reading? Do you love them for the classiness they add to a hardcover? Believe they actually protect the book? Or do you wish the person who invented them would just fall off the face of the planet?

I personally don’t like reading from hardcovers to begin with. So there’s my take on it. As such, I have very few hardcover books in my personal collection. The only books I buy as hardcovers are those that I just COULD NOT WAIT until they came out as paperbacks, or that I wanted a nice hardcover, collectible edition of an already purchased title (in which case, those just don’t get read anyway).

Or it was given to me by some random person, author, or friend — because hey! Who the hell turns down free books?!

Of those books, I generally keep the dust jacket (as in, I don’t throw it away – I mean, who the hell throws it away?! And WHY???) for the added value and completeness it brings to the book, but I don’t read with it on.

Uh-uh. Nope. Never.

That’s just irritating and adds to the likelihood that I’ll rip, tear, or otherwise demolish that gorgeous dust jacket, WHICH… is very much NOT what I want to have happen to it.

What’s your take? I’d love to hear your stories and what you all have to say about those pesky dust jacket things. 🙂

Tagged: , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Dust Jackets – How Do You Take Them?

  1. kainzow June 20, 2014 at 9:41 AM Reply

    Dust jackets are why I prefer paperback over hardbacks!
    When I used to read hardbacks,I always took the dust jacket off and threw it away!
    The reason is obvious: you always have to take great care in handling the book,lest you tear the dust jacket! As a result,you don’t enjoy the book as you should.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rachelraine June 21, 2014 at 6:36 AM Reply

    I recently moved house and found a pile of dust jackets in a drawer. Get rid, they’re annoying, you have to adjust them, they rip and give papercuts. Evil!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. friendlybookworm June 23, 2014 at 5:55 AM Reply

    I take them off, but when I finish reading for a bit I put it back on. I think my biggest pet peeve is having the paper cover all bend and out of shape, so I feel I avoid this if I do keep in on the book most of the time 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

LEAVE A REPLY

