TIL – What the heck “New Adult” Fiction is…

First off, I’m going to point everyone over to this article here where Molly Wetta explains it quite nicely so I don’t have to again. Also, Wikipedia was— as always — of marvelous help prior to reading Wetta’s article.

To summarize though:

New Adult fiction, abbreviated NA (like YA for Young Adult) is a proposed up-and-coming genre heading for fiction with protagonists ages 18-25 or so. It’s like an older YA where things like actual sex, identity, what happens when you’ve finally reached that all encompassing age of legalized adulthood, new or first jobs, college, engagements and weddings, etc. are the prominent topics and themes found in such books.

Which… I guess… is all fine, well, and good.

But I still don’t… I dunno. It’s weird for me. Why can’t we just keep calling it YA or older YA?

I mean… that age grouping they’re talking about is still technically young adults anyway, so what’s the problem?

If it’s that pesky thing about wanting to have even more risqué things in these books than what would be in regular YA, but not wanting some 11 or 12 year old picking it up, then… just… warning on the back cover? IDK????

Besides, kids are gonna pick up and read whatever the fuck they want to anyway. I certainly did. XD I was notorious for reading books waaaay above and beyond my “supposed” age range. In fact, I rarely read anything for my “appropriate age” growing up unless it was classical children’s books that were actually written with intelligence and big words. *eye roll*

But what do you guys think?

Should we have a brand-new NA section in bookstores, libraries, and genre topic headings, or just leave it as YA like it is now?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “TIL – What the heck “New Adult” Fiction is…

  1. logophile95 June 8, 2014 at 8:10 AM Reply

    Hi there! I have been seeing New Adult Fiction quite a few places myself and my thoughts on it are two-fold:

    (1) when adults think of YA many times they are thinking of barely passable prose and teen drama and (2) there are some adults who do not want to be associated with youth culture.

    This results in feeling the need to hide what they read to avoid judgment (real or perceived). This genre could potentially fill that gap and give readers what they want without any perceived stigma.

    It is definitely an interesting idea, I am in favor of it. Whatever gets more people reading.

    Liked by 1 person

    • amomentsilence June 8, 2014 at 8:43 PM Reply

      These are some great takes on this topic. I hadn’t quite thought of it that way.

      Though I still think adults should be “adult enough” to read whatever the heck they want and not care who says a thing about it. 😛

      Like

      • logophile95 June 9, 2014 at 2:18 PM Reply

        I couldn’t agree more. I feel no shame when picking books to read 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

LEAVE A REPLY

