[TBBR] When All the World Sleeps

91v-XCQ4RBL._SL1500_THIS BOOK.

THIS MARVELOUS, WONDROUS, MEMORABLE, UNFORGETTABLE ADDITION TO MY EVER-GROWING COLLECTION OF FAVOURITE BOOKS OF ALL TIME.

I WAS NOT EXPECTING IT TO BE THIS AMAZING.

I just bought it this morning and have been reading viciously since then, off and on inbetween work, 10 second breaks, more work, picking up groceries, driving (WHAT WHAT–!), and getting my ass back home.

This book is… I think I’m traumatized. (In a good way.)

Lisa Henry and J. A. Rock. When All The World Sleeps.

GO READ THIS BOOK NOW.

The only warning I will give is that there is gay. Lots of gay.

And sex.

Gay sex.

BUT STORRRYYYYYYYYYY

*practically curls up in a ball and rocks and screams and goes back to reading like a freak*

Let’s just say, I really really REALLY was NOT expecting this book to be so infuriatingly good. I can’t put it down. The dialogue, the lingo, the sentence structure, and overall flow of each page is really engaging and jives together soooo well. I haven’t gotten bored – NOT ONCE – since I began reading. I’ll definitely be done with it by tomorrow morning (Oh if only I hadn’t had to work today! This 300+ pager would have been done in a couple hours. TOPS.)

I was intrigued from the description of the book alone (taken from Amazon):

Daniel Whitlock is terrified of going to sleep. And rightly so: he sleepwalks, with no awareness or memory of his actions. Including burning down Kenny Cooper’s house—with Kenny inside it—after Kenny brutally beat him for being gay. Back in the tiny town of Logan after serving his prison sentence, Daniel isolates himself in a cabin in the woods and chains himself to his bed at night.

Like the rest of Logan, local cop Joe Belman doesn’t believe Daniel’s absurd defense. But when Bel saves Daniel from a retaliatory fire, he discovers that Daniel might not be what everyone thinks: killer, liar, tweaker, freak. Bel agrees to control Daniel at night—for the sake of the other townsfolk. Daniel’s fascinating, but Bel’s not going there.

Yet as he’s drawn further into Daniel’s dark world, Bel finds that he likes being in charge. And submitting to Bel gives Daniel the only peace he’s ever known. But Daniel’s demons won’t leave him alone, and he’ll need Bel’s help to slay them once and for all—assuming Bel is willing to risk everything to stand by him.

I know what it sounds like to some: Just another weird gay book with some weird shit going on and probably some kinkier shit to boot… And well, I won’t entirely lie to you. There is some weird shit happening (or almost happening really) to Daniel at the beginning.

But he’s desperate, and desperate people do really stupid fucking desperate things.

But outside of that is the internal, and external, struggle that the characters – both Bel and Daniel – go through in the pages I’ve read thus far. I’m about a couple pages shy of ¾ done with the book, and it’s just – SIIIGH – I’m happy right now. I know it probably won’t last. BUT I AM ONE HAPPY READER.

I won’t give away anything yet, except that each page will have your heartstrings pullin’ – not even in a romantic way, either! Although that does come later – for Daniel and all the injustice, persecution, and ignorance (which translates to one heck of a callous lack of understanding from EVERYONE, even Bel at first) he is and always has been surrounded by his entire life. You begin to see all the grey areas of the situation, really see things from another’s perspective – through the eyes of Bel coming to terms with all the bigotry around him and his own feelings towards the murderous son-of-a-bitch he’s always believed Whitlock to be.

I can’t even… SNLKAFNSLKGNALKSNDGLKANDSL

(BTW – get used to keyboard smashing, I do that a lot when I’m in a bad or exceeding happy place and right now I’m in both so god help us all!)

Go read on your kindle or buy the book already! Just go go go! You won’t regret it!

Price is a little steep if you’re buying an eBook copy like I did (it’s $7.99) but in the long run it’s worth every penny! I’m actually going to buy myself a proper print copy of the paperback by the end of the week. THAT’S how much I love this story, this plot, and these characters.

 

*now slinks off under the covers to finish devouring this incredible book*

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

LEAVE A REPLY

